Ruminations and Twaddle…

Received an email from old friend Bill Proenza at American Detector Distributors regarding a recent coin sale (auction) and wanted to share it here. Click on the photo for the details from Coin World.

First off finder is from New Jersey (nah joisey) and that’s pretty cool. Secondly I was knocked over by the condition of the coin itself. Just goes to show you need to be careful what you throw in that junk box. Luckily Pete McGinty was.  If anyone knows Pete let me know. Would love to know what detector he was using.

_____________________

A little Tongue in Cheek (I think?)

I found this article online and it made me laugh. Laugh because it wasn’t too far from the truth. What do you think?

Archeologists Discover Cryptic Symbols

_________________________

 

And finally the following tidbits from John Howland, with a couple of brainfarts thrown in for good measure…

 

WAS JUST DRINKING THINKING….

John Howland

Jesus H Christo!

I love Bourbon. I love Makers Mark.  I went on to the MM website and they actually – and I can hardly believe this – but they advocate COOKING WITH IT! If I was MM’s CEO I’d have the proponent of this desecration dragged out into the street and shot in front of his family.

Jesus H Christo, this fabulous Kentucky juice is for sipping NOT for putting in to crappy recipes. Such criminality is only once removed from putting lemonade in to TALISKER Scotch single malt, and I hold in high regard the barman at a certain hostelry not a million miles from Inverness, Scotland, who resolutely refused to commit this sacrilege when my wife asked for a Scotch and lemonade.

If the guys at MM want to contact me with samples, I’m easily bought. Just sayin’. Ok?

_____________

Bizarre!

If you’d have been caught doing this stuff in Salem in 1692 you’d have been neck-deep in doo-doo – the Devil’s doings; a black art. Practitioners say it only works if you truly believe it does. Seemingly, there’s no in-between position; either you’re ‘in’ or ‘out’. Don’t ask me to explain how it works, I simply don’t know. Map-dowsing, the subject herein, is spooky off-the-wall stuff.

I first encountered this hocus-pocus some years ago when I was asked to recover a couple of buried vintage shotguns. During the search I was asked if I could find a wooden cap to a very deep well (located somewhere on the gravelled forecourt of a large 17C house) which posed the danger of collapse. No one had any idea of its location, hence the urgency to find it. The idea being that any iron bolts in the cap might register on my metal detector. The search failed to locate the well-cap.

On behalf of the mansion owner, I contacted a friend who had the reputation as an accomplished map-dowser so I sent him a chart of the area in question, about half an acre. It came back to me with a single ‘X’ marked in a circle. When the ‘X’ location was later examined by the building contractors, the wooden, and by now rotten cap, was uncovered!!

Significantly, my map-dowsing friend was totally unaware of the mansion’s location. Equally staggering was that he’d previously located the positions of treasure sites, which in turn and following searches with metal detectors, proved accurate. He claimed that he could even give the depth for that which was searched for! Some practitioners claim they can even narrow down the precise type of treasure – gold, silver, or whatever, even burial sites.

In every case the final recovery is made at the marked position using a metal detector.

For more information on map-dowsing your local library, or, online, will prove a good starting point.  Good luck.

______________

Up With This You Should Not Put!

Little pisses me off more than half-witted Tekkies, the Neanderthal ‘knuckle-dragging element’ who leave holes unfilled and worse still, after finding junk targets, move on, leaving the recovered junk target alongside the hole. Who breeds these imbeciles?

These cretins are either newbies to treasure hunting in which case there is a modicum of forgiveness due to their ignorance, but when a seasoned member is involved there’s no excuse whatsoever.

We don’t need these people who regard congenital cretinism as a Badge of Honor. By their inconsiderate behaviour, they demonstrate to the world their brand of idiocy. Fortunately in a minority, these Tekkie morons roam the beaches and countryside generating bad publicity which the rest us must shoulder.

The UK’s Government-recognised NCMD Code of Conduct, and the US Code, are simple rules to follow. Rocket science it ain’t! If anything at all, these morons simply prove the adage that… you can’t educate bacon.

__________________

That’s the way to do it!

One Tekkie friend, now sadly passed to the Grand Hunting Ground above, was flawlessly proficient. I saw him invited to search a manicured lawn resembling a putting green at St Andrews to the rear of a Georgian mansion. He retrieved a huge solid silver piece of jewelery, returned it to the house owner, leaving absolutely no trace of where he’d been. The owner of the house, deeply impressed by his skill gave him permission to search several hundred acres at his leisure whenever he fancied.

_____________________________________________

Let’s hear it for Edith…

“I am patient with stupidity but not with those who are proud of it.”

Edith Sitwell

I’ll see y’all in the bar!

 

***************

15 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

15 responses to “Ruminations and Twaddle…

  1. I better start posting my coins on eBay, ’cause after seeing the state of that NJ, I’m sure I will soon be a Millionaire!

    As for those that leave unsightly holes–shame on you! You all know who you are. I saw a bunch of “rogue holes” at a club hunt this past weekend, and it literally made me sick. You’ve got permission to hunt a historic area for the weekend, with only one rule–be neat, and cover your holes, but you found that request too difficult? WTF?

  2. BigTony

    Very cool find! And you are right that we all better be more careful of what we throw into our junk boxes.
    Covering our holes is just part of the hobby and it doesn’t take much effort, just crazy for folks to not believe in the Code.

  3. Be honest. How many of you looked up the word Twaddle?

  4. BigTony

    Dick, I thought it meant stuff we overlook, like unfilled holes after metal detecting!

    • Definition of twaddle
      1
      a : silly idle talk : drivel
      b : something insignificant or worthless : nonsense that idea is pure twaddle
      2
      : one that twaddles : twaddler

  5. fastfrank

    Not me. I know twaddle. Although “diabolically opposed” had me scratching my head.

  6. Sadly we have to deal with unfilled holes all the time, and the most pathetic part of it all, is many times these are not newbies who just don’t know the ropes, but long-term, seasoned operators who damned well know better. Even if we had the kahunas, here in what’s left of the U.S. to put in place a Portable Antiquities Scheme as in England, it would soon be pulled due to the amount of damage American treasure hunters would do to the land, parks and pasture.

    I personally have given up on getting the masses to use a little common sense, and have gotten myself entangled with this subject time and time again, with this sort of thing; trying to stop it, calling people out on it, and have realized the hobby is just not viable here anymore. As with much else in the 21st Century, certain people just don’t care, and never will. It’s a me-me-me world and hit-and-run metal detecting is a symptom of the disease. The cure will probably be banning metal detecting…everywhere in the U.S. unfortunately.

    What I’d personally like to see is some sort of licensing with high penalties for vandalism include, nailing the guilty party and not the hobby itself. I’ve mentioned this before to the loud NOOOOOO and Hiss Booo of other detectorists who apparently are ignorant of what is at stake. A discussion on the subject gets non-relevant comments like “Who will enforce it???” or the ever popular “It can’t be enforced!” to the emotional screams of “We don’t want government involved!!!” And one I particularly thought kind of oxymoron-ish “We don’t need licensing,..that is only for a vehicle because someone can get hurt and in metal detecting you can’t!” During one of our club publicly attended events, a participant stepped into a hole dug by another participant and twisted his leg so bad he could not continue. I rest my case.

    • Well said James…it has indeed become a me, me, me world and we can thank social media for a lot of it. No one really cares…they just pay lip service.

      • Just a follow-up and realization….went online, checked email and FB. All posts with photos and the purpose? Look at me? Am I the best or what? I am ready to turn off a lot of this….

    • Hi Jim:
      I don’t disagree with you and support your call for sanity, BUT, licensing is a tax on the hobby. Why should metal detecting be licensed when archaeology is not? They’ve thieves and vagabonds too, posing as above the law academics. We don’t have the monopoly of the villainy.

      Not only this, but that which can be ‘licensed’ can be as easily taken away or rocketed in cost. There’s also the danger that any such ‘licence’ would be geared to archaeological practice, and in flagrant opposition to our own Codes of Practice.

      Better the problem, such as it is, be solved by our own people in a proper grown-up manner. This is a club-level problem and has to be dealt with at that level, backed by whatever passes for a national body.

      It’s the elephant in the room!

      Best regards

  7. Alan Titchmarsh

    And you are the man, Mr Howland, to solve the problem ‘in a proper grown-up manner’. I look forward to it.

    • Hello Mr Titchmarshski:
      Good to know you read an upmarket, proper blog!

      Better I deal with the problem than you I suspect; especially where negotiations are to be conducted in a ‘grown-up’ manner. My evidence for this? Just look at your comment!

      Kind regards and get well soon.

Leave a Reply

