Sunday Sundries…

JUST DRONING ON AND ON…

grzin1I’ve been asked my opinion of drones numerous times, and thought I would address it here. I have three drones at present. One that used to fly over my house to keep watch, one that flies over the young and sexy 25-year-old blonde five houses down, and one that monitors my bank where I have millions stashed away. Hopefully that answers your questions.

Seriously, I have not given much thought about them, though at one time did think they might be fun…..a novelty, a passing fancy, and potentially a waste of money.  Now when it comes to detecting I think they “could be” useful, much like McGator commented last update. The problem I see however is that you have to keep a drone within sight in order to control it, and that doesn’t exactly make me want to rush out and buy one. If I wanted to see a potential site five miles away I would have to get in my car and drive, defeating the whole purpose of having one, and with Google Earth as good as it is, wouldn’t that be better than a drone? I realize many areas on Google Earth were recorded months ago, but most are reasonably up to date, and it’s a helluva lot cheaper than buying a drone.

Next the government is starting to get involved in how drones are used domestically, and I have a feeling the restrictions are going to grow to the point where it isn’t feasible to own one. I foresee it eventually being an inexpensive fun tool for kids that can be used in your backyard. Now I could be very wrong about all this, and I hope I am. I would love to have something that could fly two or three miles, be easily controlled, and offer detailed visual evidence of the terrain below.  And then there’s that blonde…

A few interesting articles on the topic…

What You Need to Know Before Flying a Drone

Why the US Government is Terrified of Drones

Drones Take Over

___________________

BRAINFARTS

Go to Facebook, and in the search area type in metal detect…..see how many pages turn up. Then type in treasure hunting and do the same thing. Enough there to keep you busy? Good, I am passing, thank you. I mean Jeezus guys how much is enough?

Why do I get the feeling a lot of you buy searchcoils because of how they look?

Are you more concerned about finding cool stuff or just looking cool while doing it?

__________________

LOVE THIS…

stare

________________________________

LATE TREASURE HEADLINES

Silver Hoard Found in Philippines

Latest on Nazi Gold

________________________________

HELLO OUT THERE…

Trying hard not to pick on the three national organizations, but unless I am missing something the FMDAC”s latest update is the president’s first quarter report 2015.

Oh well, not to worry…..I’m sure they will resurface in time to promote 2016 get-together.

________________________________

WHAT USED TO BE HOME

IMG_1877

As of today, 8402 Willowbrook is gone…..

****************

________________________________

11 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

11 responses to “Sunday Sundries…

  1. The only drone that I am familiar with is…well, look east! Poland! Hahahah!

    You know, I though t I caught a brief glimpse of a $20 bill in that pic….you remember $20 bills?

  2. My old Garden State friend and tekkie Bruce Hazelman emailed me and reminded me that drones are a big part of our national defense…

  3. Coin25

    I can see it now – Treasure News
    Drones discover treasure hoard at 8402 Willowbrook!

  4. Coin25

    I figured as much. I am not being insensitive here please I mean no disrespect – I was just considering the situation and thinking out loud (so to speak). Probably some treasure story writers are staring at their cell phones right now.

    BTW – drones don’t beat boots on the ground, sampling a few targets at a new site will tell the tale if you should stay and dig more or not.

  5. Coin25

    My slippers are comfortable too, and I have the boots and the will but I have to figure out why I don’t go

  6. Interesting thoughts Dick and thanks for throwing the subject out there. I always use Google Earth in since its great tool for historical research, map overlays, etc. A drawback is that some remote areas GE isn’t as fast on doing updates though, and you can only drill down so far with a satellite image. Especially in some of the regions around Nome AK. That is where I fill in the blanks with the drone images. I wish I could post a couple of image I did a few days ago where I took a bunch of images (100) and stitched them into a composite of a 20 acre claim here in AZ. The fancy name for that is “orthomosaic”. You can really drill down into the image to a rock the size of a football, spot claim makers, bedrock, washes, etc. These same 100 images can also produce a 3D image as well as an elevation image where it shows the high elevation in hot colors and lower elevations in cool colors. This elevation feature really makes the washes stand out.

    I’ve also envisioned using the drone on some relic hunts in VA. The next time I attend one of the organized hunts, I can at least send the drone out to get some videos and stills of the hunt area. Some might call that cheating, but I’ll call that extended research. When I was out for one in Culpepper, VA last year I spotted an area that I wanted to hit from GE using old Civil War maps. After 40 minutes of stomping through the briars I get there and find the area has all been scraped off and leveled.

    There are some areas in the Midwest that I identified as having possible homestead sites from going over land survey field notes from the 1850’s; and have used GE to overlay the old maps. A neat feature on GE. The fun part comes in finding the owner of the property and then getting permission because it’s not easy catching farmers at home. This took me several attempts on a couple. Some of these areas involved somewhat of a hike to get to, so sending the drone out and getting some good images/videos of the area would help in the research in that is it even worth going to.

    The range on the drone it is rather far, 5-9 miles with certain equipment. I find no reason to ever go that far. To me sending a drone out that far is just bragging rights. I’ve sent mine out 2.5 miles testing it in which I followed a country road in Nebraska. The rest of my flights so far have been less than a mile. The great feature that comes with drone technology is that I can preprogram a grid pattern, set all waypoints, when to start/stop videos, take a photo, etc. all from home. Then when I get to the field, set the drone on auto pilot and it takes off, does its business, returns and lands. I could actually set the controller down and have a sandwich even. But I always have the controller in hand to monitor the flight.

    It’s a great tool for me and some others, but it’s not for everybody. If it fits into your style, it’s a great addition to the toolbox; especially in the Arizona mountains for prospecting. But it still doesn’t beat boots on the ground as Coin25 says. But at my age it takes me a couple of trips to get there.

    On a different subject, books sales have gone up 30% recently which is good to hear. But too late for such places as Borders.

    • Mcgator, from now on you are my drone guru, and I will be forwarding all future questions to you. You’ve obviously been working with them some time, and I appreciate your taking the time to share the above. I am too old to get into that area now, but I find the topic fascinating, especially after your comments. Please keep us updated on your efforts. It could just be the next big thing in treasure hunting, and having said that I am sure there are a few tekkies out there who have already been successful using drones.

      Thanks again….

  7. Tag me anytime on the subject. It’s a fascinating piece of technology.

  8. Coin25

    Thanks for sharing the Nazi gold train update. I was wondering what was going on with that treasure hunt.
    This article sounds like there is still plenty to explore in that area

Leave a Reply

