Scattershooting…

WORDS SOMETIMES FAIL ME

Say what?

Goofy?

Not sure why, but I find myself talking a lot to Digger of late.  More so than I did with Barnum.  Maybe it’s because of what we’ve been going through with the loss of our home….I don’t know.  I assume he understands everything I say, but deep down I know he really doesn’t. What he does understand is “are you hungry?” and “do you want a treat?”.   He can also act kind of goofy sometimes, but he’s my shadow, my best friend, and I love him dearly.

I thought about this just now as I was trying to come up with something interesting to post here, and wondered if it really mattered. I mean how many people read what I write, and does anyone really give a rat’s ass?  Not the first time these questions entered my mind.  I’ve had this blog now for four years, the website for six, and there have been numerous times when I wondered if I was just wasting time, pissing in the wind.

I’ve often thought that blogging was a self-centered way to promote yourself, but I find it creative and fun, in that I try to pass on things about the metal detecting pastime that I’ve learned over the years, and in the process, try to get a laugh or two out of you.  John Winter and I have chatted many times, and the topic of why we blog comes up often. We both agree it’s therapeutic, fulfilling, and there’s always that little pat on the back we get when someone likes what you have to say, and/or takes the time to comment.

brag

I’m sure that the avid, or maybe I should say rabid, detectorists today are not interested in what I have to say, and I have accepted that.  I was them once, and would have also ignored some ole guy extolling the virtues of not wearing camo, keeping things simple, and bragging about a great tortellini recipe. I mean WTF, right? To be honest it’s just getting harder to keep up with you, and your lust for tips, tricks, secrets, and the next best, most expensive piffwanger coming on the market.  Not that I won’t look at it, get excited about it, or even buy it.  Just that I do things at a much, much slower pace now.

So what does all this have to do with the price of bananas? Not a damn thing really, just an excuse for not having anything informative to share today. Then again, after toughing out a tornado, I’ve learned that there is life after detecting, digging, and bragging about your latest find.  Yup, like Digger I now respond more to “are you hungry” and “do you want a treat”.

Now if I could just find some sweet thing to pet me and rub my ears….

____________________________________

THANKS TO JOHN WINTER FOR SHARING

A Day in the Life of a Detectorist

____________________________________

SHIPPING THIS WEEK

DSPORT

____________________________________

SOUNDS FAMILIAR

Currently reading about my childhood idol, Mickey Mantle (The Last Boy, published by Harper) and came across the following quotes which I thought were very apropos to our pastime…

The author Jane Leavy on Mickey Mantle’s skills….

Mantle had no idea what he did right or wrong or differently batting right-handed and left-handed.  More than likely he would have had little truck with present day baseball pedagogy. Today’s students of the game have PhDs in physics and industrial engineering; applied engineering, applied math, applied psychology, applied biomedical engineering;  kinesthesiology and a new area of inquiry called biological cybernetics. They don’t talk baseball; they discuss the “relationship amongst the sweet spot, COP, and vibration nodes in baseball bats,” the topic of treatise published in Proceedings of the 5th Conference of Engineering of Sport.

Have to add as well Casey Stengel’s adage about his players being out past curfew…

“It ain’t getting it that hurts them, it’s staying up all night looking for it. They gotta learn that if you don’t get it by midnight, you ain’t gonna get it, and if you do, it ain’t worth it”.

____________________________________

TREASURE HUNTERS EXPRESS

Just got the winter 2016 edition of the Treasure Hunter’s Express, and it has a great article titled “How to Build Your Personal Treasure Research Library” and if anyone knows about this it’s Paul Tainter. His den or research room would make you drool.  I have mentioned the Treasure Hunter’s Express numerous times here and surely will again in the future. Paul and I go back many years, and his Exanimo Press & Treasure Expos are legend.

Email Paul at tretrove@yahoo.com if you are interested. Tell him Dick Stout said to send you a sample copy.

____________________________________

I know very few, if any, will read this, but I found it pretty interesting…..

Can You Hear Me at the Back?

____________________________________

MY BOOK

To those who have asked….I am back to working on my book, but not sure when it will be finished or available.  Finding a place to live is first on my agenda…I will keep you updated.

____________________________________ 

mxsport22

********************* 

 

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Scattershooting…

  1. I find myself talking to out family pets because they are family. Keep cranking out the reads because they are read. I’m curious to hear your thoughts on drone technology someday in regards to detecting; tool, target practice or both. I use it in AZ to check out new areas for prospecting. Much easier sending the drone out first for a peek rather hiking a two hour mountain mile. Keep up the great work!!

    • Thanks mcgator. Not too up on drones, but I can see where they could be very useful, especially as you mentioned, in remote areas. Might look into one once we get settled somewhere.

      • My personal website gets the least of the attention, but thanks.

        Regarding drones, I purchased one recently and it’s a mind bender. Gives you the perspective of a bird. I haven’t used it much due to cold weather, but look forward to flying this spring.

      • Jamie, what other websites do you have?

  2. Jamie

    We’re all just pissing in the wind. At least you are good at it.

    Henry David Thoreau would approve of your blogging. Someday I hope to screw my head on straight enough to sit down and write something meaningful on my blog.

    I am more of a songwriter, poet perhaps, and when I sit down to write something more verbose, to quote Pink Floyd, “thought I had something more to say.”

    Keep pissing!

    Jamie

    • Jamie, just took a look at your website, and was very impressed. Where the hell were you when I was trying to do mine, LOL. Anyway, thank you for your kind comments….

      “If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away…”

      • “Associate reverently and as much as you can with your loftiest thoughts. Each thought that is welcomed and recorded is a nest egg, by the side of which more will be laid. Thoughts accidentally thrown together become a frame in which more may be developed and exhibited. Perhaps this is the main value of a habit of writing, of keeping a journal, — that so we remember our best hours and stimulate ourselves. My thoughts are my company. They have a certain individuality and separate existence, aye, personality. Having by chance recorded a few disconnected thoughts and then brought them together into juxtaposition, they suggest a whole new field in which it was possible to labor and to think. Thought begat thought.” Henry David Thoreau

  3. Dogs are very perceptive animals, they might not “understand” but they do understand. From the smallest daily occurrences to the real tragedies of life, dogs seem to realize that something is wrong with their families and try to offer comfort to their humans.

    I was not very close with our family dog, who was actually my daughter’s pet. When our daughter Abigail died a few years ago, Brooke was a real source of comfort for my wife and I.

    Brooke is a Rat Terrier, small and energetic, but she was deeply saddened when Abi was not there any longer, I guess she sought comfort in us, and in turn we received comfort from her. Brooke has become my buddy, and we have a co-dependant relationship, where we both get a lot out of understanding and love from each other. I always had cats growing up, and cats are nice, but dogs “understand”.

    • Thanks for sharing that Avery. Sorry to hear about your daughter…

      I understand the co-dependent thing completely. When they follow you all over, sit at your feet, look at you, it’s comforting and reassuring.

      On another note, please pass along my sincere thanks to everyone in the Task Force for contributing so generously to the fund Dave Wise and Robert Ellis set up for Fay and I. We appreciate it so very much.

  4. Paul T

    Dick:
    You mentioned that you have resorted to talking to your dog. The way I look at it, that is better then talking to one’s self.

  5. He also said:-

    “They say Yogi Berra is funny. Well, he has a lovely wife and family, a beautiful home, money in the bank, and he plays golf with millionaires. What’s funny about that?”

    while the great Yogi Berra said:-

    “You should always go to other people’s funerals; otherwise, they won’t come to yours.”

    and priceless:-

    “I was in the invasion of Normandy in southern France.”

    John H
    (Texas Rangers fan).

  6. Coin25

    Dick, all good stuff here – thanks again for the blog.
    If you had a cell phone you could stare at it and talk to Siri, she will call you by name then answer your questions, no matter what they are. That way folks will think you are like them and they will not care about what you are doing.
    Stay well my friend – and enjoy the warm either you are having.

  7. Linda Bennett

    Blogging is a lot like doing a journal except blogging has no privacy. With writing you can look at your life, problems and blessings sometimes in a different way. Sharing that with other people also makes the reader look at things in a different way too. Don’t get too discouraged. I know I read your posting even though I rarely comment. I wonder how many of your readers are the same way?

    • Hi Linda,
      Not discouraged, just having one of those days when you want to write and suddenly realize you don’t have much to share. Then I told Digger that and it went on from there….
      I wouldn’t dare keep a journal. Someone might find it, read it and blackmail me.

  8. Bob K

    Dick don’t tape your talks with digger, remember tricky Dick. Your blogs are d_ _ _ good. Keep them going
    THANKS for the warm air been in the 70’s last 2 days.

  9. Ben

    Add me to the list of readers who seldom comment [1st time comment]. Many of us read and enjoy the information, thoughts, & feelings even if we don’t show it.

    You and I are close to the same age. I come from Louisiana and have seen the devastation caused by a tornado. I can’t imagine dealing with that at my time of life. I hope you find a great place to settle and get on with your life.

  10. Bob B

    You’re my father figure. My real father didn’t have much to say either. Although, come to think of it, he didn’t talk to the dog. Take two drinks and you’ll be better in the morning.

Leave a Reply

