How to Attract Readers…

Amazing what attracts people to my blog…

Share a post about knocking on doors, updates from the UK, views on a detector, or an interesting news article, and nada. Throw one out about someone slandering you, and bam, hundreds of views. Says a lot about where we are as a group or entity, and even more about where I fit in within that community. Lots of subscribers and Facebook followers, but only a handful took the time to to lend support.

I traced a large number of yesterday’s visitors to a forum, where a poster shared a link to my blog, with the heading “Dick Stout called Fake and Phony”. Despite his comment that he was an occasional reader, I have a feeling he just loved typing it. Then again, no surprise coming from a forum.

Of course ultimately it was my fault for even approving Mr. Kemper’s remarks, and for following them up with a post taking umbrage. It did however open my eyes to a lot of things, and has given me cause to rethink the purpose and usefulness of this blog.

Back to work on my book….

“If you haven’t got anything nice to say about anybody come sit next to me.”Alice Roosevelt Longworth

************************

10 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

10 responses to “How to Attract Readers…

  1. Roy Rutledge

    Well, I am waiting on the book.
    I read nearly all of your blogs, don’t always respond. Sometimes I am too busy opening bottles of Red or maybe even a bottle of White. Pay no attention to the people behind the curtains. They don’t count anyway.

  2. Joe

    Dick, you cannot please all of the people, all of the time. Some tidbits to chew on…

    There’s a large segment of the hobby which seems to thrive on drama, most of it bad. As the internet has replaced t.v. for many, should we really find this surprising? Just do your thing, and let the chips fall where they may.

    Being a strongminded individual, and more importantly, a well-known public figure, there are obviously going to be those who disagree with your views. Some might even get their jollies by stirring the pot. These are simply instigators, who have such a low regard of themselves and their situation, that they delight in taking it out on others. Don’t add fuel to the fire. Best remedy is to totally disregard rude, obnoxious or hate filled messages.

    You speak based on extensive experience, and hard fought, in-the-field trial & error, regarding this pasttime. Can others claim the same?

    Don’t let the immaturity of others prevent your mission. There are indeed many (including myself) who look forward to your writings, and will continue to do so, regardless of the haters.

  3. Bob K

    Guess it’s time for me to barge in on the comments, with my 1cent. Theres a saying “you learn something new everyday” and that was yours the other day. As I have said before I like your blog, plus it serves a purpose. And you can’t please all the people all the time. If you are like me (Hate to say it) to old to change now or care to. Just want to criticize right back.

    P.S. have another glass of wine.

  4. Todd Hiltz

    I know you as just being real and genuine Dick. I can appreciate that way more than those who are always wearing rose colored glasses.
    Anything controversial will always garner more attention, that’s how it’s always been. Lets face it, if you didn’t have critics then you really aren’t making an impact.

  5. Archie Ray

    Hi Dick, You and I know that you have done a lot of work for the hobby! You are always going to have comments that are upsetting and you should just ignore them. We are getting old (at least I am) and we should just roll with the tide. You have one of the best metal detecting sites on the web and your blogs are always informative.
    Archie (Say Hi to Fay from the two of us!)

  6. Andy Baines

    There is nothing today that our society loves more than a bit of drama, I wouldn’t let it bother you Dick. It’s not worth the stress.

    Andy

  7. Thanks all…

    The blog will continue. Taking a few days off to work on my book.

  8. RoyR

    Dick, don’t forget I get the first signed book when it comes off of the press.

  9. Screw them , Dick. Bunch of mental midgets

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.