Hot and Bothered…

Well Apparently You Can Make This Stuff Up?

Just a slow, slow time for this Bubba right now.  With the never-ending 100 degree days, and the AC units humming 24/7, I’m busy pulling corks, lifting glasses, eating and learning how to crochet. I want you to know however there was a time when I wouldn’t haven’t given the heat a second thought, but those days are long gone. I am older, wiser and a big ole wimp.

So here I sit, looking at four detectors, an upright bass, a guitar and a boat load of books. It’s too hot to go out digging, can’t play the guitar any more, can barely play a line or two on the bass, but I can turn pages.  So I read.  Not a bad alternative at all….

I also visit cyberspace to see what’s new and exciting in the treasure hunting world, and without fail the detecting community never lets me down when it comes to cool finds, and off-the-wall humor (most of it unintentional, and falling in the “are you shitting me?” category).  Example? This from two tekkies named Digger Dawn & Twig the Dig……

What can I say? Do NOT show this to your mayor or town council!

Another one that got my attention today is this one from the prolific, send me money, movie producer Deep Digger Dan…. When it starts out I could swear I am watching a western sitcom from the 60’s, and the ending has me shaking my head.  Apparently finding a landmine is a “funny” thing.

Even the chickens under the porch know that.

I always wonder if our detractors ever watch these videos and what they must think.  There are hundreds, if not thousands of them out there, and it’s obviously a contest to see who can garner the most viewers, likes or laughs. Unfortunately the good ones get lost in the shuffle with all the “I want to be on TV” offerings.

Sad enough to bring a tear to a glass eye.

NEVER DOUBTED THIS!

New Research Says Your Dog Can Help You Identify Assholes

______________________________

FROM THE MALAMUTE SALOON

A man had just settled into his seat next to the window on the plane when another man sat down in the aisle seat and put his black Labrador retriever in the middle seat next to the man.

The first man looked very quizzically at the dog and asked why the dog was allowed on the plane.

The second man explained that he was from the Police Drugs Enforcement Agency and that the dog was a ‘sniffing dog’.

‘His name is Sniffer and he’s the best there is. I’ll show you once we get airborne, when I put him to work.’

The plane took off, and once it has levelled out, the Policeman said, ‘Watch this.’

He told Sniffer to ‘search’.

Sniffer jumped down, walked along the aisle, and finally sat very purposefully next to a woman for several seconds.
Sniffer then returned to his seat and put one paw on the policeman’s arm.

The Policeman said, ‘Good boy’, and he turned to the man and said, ‘That woman is in possession of marijuana, I’m making a note of her seat number and the authorities will apprehend her when we land.

Gee, that’s pretty good,’ replied the first man.

Once again, the Policeman sent Sniffer to search the aisles.

The Lab sniffed about, sat down beside a man for a few seconds, returned to its seat, and this time he placed two paws on the agent’s arm. The Policeman said, ‘That man is carrying cocaine, so again, I’m making a note of his seat number for the police.’

I like it!’ said his seat mate.

The Policeman then told Sniffer to ‘search’ again.

Sniffer walked up and down the aisles for a little while, sat down for a moment, and then came racing back to the agent, jumped into the middle seat and proceeded to sh*t on the seat.

The first man was really disgusted by this behaviour and couldn’t figure out how or why a well-trained dog would behave like  that.

So he asked the Policeman, ‘What’s going on?

The Policeman nervously replied, ‘He’s just found a bomb.’

BADABOOM !

___________________________________

GOING FISHING…

Heading out on the lake….see you later!

pugboat56

Thanks to Alan Holcombe for the photo.

 ************

8 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

8 responses to “Hot and Bothered…

  1. wendell

    The heat is getting to me, but I would be in the water at the river if not for my hand. Two more weeks before I can get it wet and another two weeks to swing the at/pro. I just have a hard time watching any video over 5-6 minutes in length. Part of that is the fact I can only use the library computer a couple hours and only get here 1-2 times per week and time I catch up on everything else, videos are low on my list. Guess the dog drops a bomb when he smells a bomb. I could have that problem if I was at 30,000 feet and knew a bomb was on the plane myself. HH.

  2. bigtony

    It really can’t make you feel any better but NJ has several days in the upper 90’s right now and my chillers are running 24/7 too

  3. bigtony

    Digging here is by machine unless you go to a beach…this is the time not to dig in the dirt and get folks upset about holes.

  4. Digger Dawn

    Not sure if you are having a pop at me or not? I would just like to say metal detecting is our life, we do it as part of our love of history. We are not wishing we were on TV, we ask for nothing and just share the learning curve that we have been on since we started detecting.
    Regards Digger Dawn

  5. Dawn, spent too many years trying to legitimize what it is we do, and this type of over the top silliness bothers me. It makes great fodder for the archaeological community and plays right into their hands. And…..it’s only MY opinion.

Leave a Reply

