Q&A with Brad Martin of Green Mountain Metal Detecting

Those of you who have detected any length of time know of Brad Martin. His Green Mountain Metal Detecting website and YouTube channel are both top notch and extremely popular. Let me also add that if you are NOT familiar with GMMD do yourself a big favor and check it out. You will enjoy and come away better for it. 

I have been trying for some time to get Brad to slow down, sit down and do a Q&A and finally (after he got tired of me bugging him) he agreed. Hope you enjoy and thanks Brad….

The Q&A

 

Q. Brad if you don’t mind tell us a little about yourself, i.e., where do you live, are you married, where you keep you keep your valuables, etc….

A. I live in the mountains of Vermont with my wife and son and travel most of the state to film my videos. The “valuables” I find are always offered 100% to the landowner, but the pieces that I am able to bring home are cataloged in boxes with site information, location, and historical notes.

 

Q. Does anyone else in the family detect?

A. Nope, my wife and son have other interests.

 

Q. When exactly did you start detecting and what was it that got you interested?

A. In 2014 I received a mercury dime in my pocket change which reminded me of the metal detector I received for Christmas as a child. I retrieved it from storage, tried it in the yard of my 1850’s home and my very first target was another mercury dime. I was hooked.

My first Merc (found detecting)…

 

Q. What was your first detector and what made you purchase or that particular brand/model?

A. The machine I received for Christmas as a child was a bounty hunter from RadioShack. The first machine I purchased as an adult was a Fisher F2 which I chose based on internet forums and reviews at the time.

 

Q. In the beginning where did you concentrate your time? What area did you search?

A. I started on my own property, gradually moving to family member’s property and then friends’. I have several friends that are farmers with 1000’s of acres which kept me busy.

 

Q. And what was your first good or decent find, as in “damn that’s a keeper”!

A. About a month into the hobby I had the opportunity to metal detect the yard of a very historic home. In the first 30 minutes I had found two walking-liberty half dollars and an 1897 Russian ruble. This day in particular is why I started bringing along a camera and eventually making YouTube videos. 

Only a month into the hobby…

 

Q. Another brain test….how long did it take you to find your first silver coin and what was it?

A. Answered above – First target ever!

 

Q. How long did it take you to find your first ring and what type of ring was it?

A. I concentrate on pre-1900 sites so rings are quite a rare find for me. However, the one and only gold ring I have found was a wedding band in my own backyard, belonging to the previous owner.

 

Q. Brad did you spend a lot of time researching in the beginning and if so how did you go about it?

A. I did not spend a lot of time researching, I mostly just covered as much ground as I could get permission for. Since then, I try to optimize my time by spending it in places I know quite a lot about. Old maps, local history books and newspapers are my go-to.

 

Q. Okay what is your weirdest find to date?

A. One of my weirdest finds is a 15g gold nugget found in an 1800’s dirt road. It’s unclear whether its natural or dropped by a traveler. 

15g gold nugget

 

Q. What is your “OLDEST” find to date?

A. I found a rock in my driveway that’s probably a few million years old. But oldest man-made object, excluding native stone points, are the roman coins and artifacts found in Europe- roughly 1,800 years old.

 

Q. Brad your website is loaded with fantastic finds but let me give your brain a workout. What would you consider to be your very best find after all this time, and if it’s hard to choose just one tell us about all of them.

A. It’s hard to compare “best finds” of different types- as I’ve found many valuable coins, military artifacts, native pieces, bottles, etc. But my overall favorite is an 18th-century silver pendant engraved with a woman’s name and birthday. 

My overall favorite

 

Q. Okay finally….please tell us about your most “fascinating” search or trek. The one that drew you in from the start and that kept your interested day in, day out?

A. I’ve had the opportunity to metal detect a few 1620’s Native/European trade sites which yielded both stone points as well as Native owned and altered metals. Brass arrowheads, gun parts and Jesuit rings certainly kept my interest. 

Very early finds…

 

Q. When did the Green Mountain Detecting website and YouTube channel start up and what prompted you to start sharing?

A. I first started filming to show family and friends and to relive the exciting moments of finding things I had never found before. I eventually started posting on Youtube in 2015 and since then have turned metal detecting content-creation into a full time job.

Digging and filming – what could be better?

 

Q. What detector are you using at the moment and why?

A. I’m currently using the XP Deus II. It’s super light-weight, infinitely customizable, waterproof and has no wires.

XP all the way!

 

Q. Can you offer a few tips or settings?

A. I have created two custom programs that I use exclusively. One for general use and one for super iron-rich foundations. If readers are interested in the settings I am happy to send them.

 

Q. Brad when you do go detecting what other accessories/gear do you take?

A. I carry an XP MI-6 pinpointer which links wirelessly to my headphones, as well as a simple wooden-handled 3/4 length shovel. In my backpack are standard tools like a toothbrush, isopropyl alcohol spray bottle for cleaning artifacts and a jewelers loupe. On top of that, I also carry 3 cameras as well as microphones and tripods.

 

Q. You surely have a bucket list. Care to share it?

A. Colonial and Victorian sites are filled with items we find every trip. Buttons, buckles, coins, horse tackle, etc. My “bucket list” includes anything I’ve never found before that can tell a story about the person who lost it.

 

Q. Brad do like to hunt with others or are you a loner?

A. I always prefer sharing the day with friends, but the vast majority of my videos and adventures are alone, as I generally schedule them during the workweek.

 

Q. Have you hunted overseas at all?

A. I have! I spent a week in France, invited by fellow YouTuber “Chill Bill”. We found Roman, Medieval and Victorian artifacts. 

A few of my French finds…

 

Q. Do you belong to a club?

A. I do not

 

Q. What would your IDEAL detector look like?

A. My ideal detector would weight almost nothing and have flawless discrimination between metal types.

 

Q. If you could pass along one or two words of advice to other detectorists, what would they be?

A. If you’re feeling discouraged about the things you’re finding or lack thereof, don’t blame your machine, tools, or your ability. You can’t find something that isn’t in the ground you’re searching. Research is key.

____________________________

Brad’s YouTube videos are extremely well done and very entertaining…..

_________________________

*******

4 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

4 responses to “Q&A with Brad Martin of Green Mountain Metal Detecting

  1. john taylor

    brad martin! feel as if I have know this guy for a long time, and I have, through the internet!
    his videos are very well done, and extremely entertaining. he has a knack for taking the viewer along for the journey. from what I have been able to ascertain is his “ability’ to “get on the land” as mentioned, and knowing a ton of people certainly helps, especially in this libelous age we find ourselves in. his approach, and technique are “spot on” and his choice of equipment is excellent.man has indeed found some “great stuff” keep goin’ brad.

    (h.h.!)
    j.t.

    • Thought of you JT. Brad’s videos are indeed real godd and you know I don’t say that about too many youtubers….

      • john taylor

        dick!..yeah to be sure he does a wonderful job. nothin’ “plastic” about this guy! he’s just a regular shmuck like the rest of us who happens to like doing videos. I’m happy he likes to do ’em, because what he has to offer is a real pleasure to watch. he finds enough to keep you interested, and he gets to hunt some great real estate. class guy, mr. Martin is.

        (h.h.!)
        j.t.

  2. Mark

    great Q&A

    Brad can you send me your custom program settings?

    boermark@outlook.com

    Thanks mate

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.