So Der Ya Go!

THE Q & A POSTS

Thanks for all the nice comments about the recent Q & A posts. Keep in mind they are only as good as the interviewees, a.k.a. the individual answering the questions.  If you enjoy them but have ideas on how to make them better or have questions you would like asked, let me know. Next up? Butch Holcombe, followed by Bob Sickler (The Detectorist)….

_______________

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

Are we at or approaching the last frontier? Are we running out of sites, stuff and space? Where are you finding your treasures?

Well unless you live on one of the coasts I am willing to bet it’s somewhere rural…maybe a farmer’s field , an old home site, picnic grove or cellar hole. Pretty sure too it’s not the local park, school or church because for all practical purposes we’ve lost most of those. Thanks to the increasing number of participants, a lack of caring, greed and yes even progress, there’s a big hole in our “used to do” list of places.

Because of the world’s exploding population the planet can only hold so many people without exhausting available space and decent living conditions. Our pastime is no different and we all, especially the manufacturers, better wake up. We keep buying their products, they keep counting their money and the law of diminishing returns is upon us.

When I started detecting back in the 70’s I was a coin hunter and extremely lucky to be living in the northeast where the old stuff started. I spent a great deal of time at the local parks, older schools and athletic fields. There were coins everywhere and a bad day back then was ten or fewer silver pieces. Life was good and the detecting damn good. 

Today if I want to head out with my detector I can think of maybe one large park in the city that might hold my attention and offer the prospect of an old coin or two. Otherwise I need to seek out the open spaces, fields, wooded areas and “anywhere I can”.  So what does it all mean? Only that we’ve screwed up what we had and we’re scrounging for whatever is left.

Just maybe, when the manufacturers see their sales dwindling and we’re all done taking selfies we might just notice…

________________

BRAIN FARTS

Does John Howland ever go to bed and not dream about archaeologists?

Someday the manufacturers will return to the smaller 7 inch coil and say damn, Dick Stout was right. Then again, probably not…

I am totally amazed and dumbfounded at what excites today’s tekkie. It apparently doesn’t take much….

Have a hunch there are a lot of very successful and very knowledgeable detectorists out there who aren’t interested in selfies and videos…

If I ever open my email in the morning and not see “D.J. Yost posted, or shared” I will panic….

________________

________________

MY BOOKS

Every once in a while someone asks about an older book of mine that had a different cover and I want to explain the sequence ….

First book was Metal Detecting the Hobby. The rewrite or update was called The NEW Metal Detecting the Hobby. Whites decided not to reprint this book and both are now out of print. I am thinking about printing it myself though nothing definite has been decided.

Next came Coin Hunting in Depth, and it was reprinted later on with a different cover (same text). This was a fun book to write and has sold well. I did an update sometime around 2011 but the company sat on it so long the products and photos were outdated and I asked for it back.

And finally there was Where to find Treasure, initially a large format (magazine size) book that was free to anyone visiting a Whites dealer. This book was reprinted quite a few times and I was asked to do an update. It was still called Where to Find Treasure but was reduced to the standard 5 x 7 size and it was no longer free. It was updated again in 2013 and renamed In Search of Treasure.

Large format on left, first update and right, the latest update

 

I am now in the process, albeit a slow one, of writing my last book. It will be quite different from any other out there now. It’s about my 43 years of detecting, and I share my in-the-field experiences, my travels, my work in the industry and most of all the people I met along the way.

So der ya go!!

________________

 

****************

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

10 responses to “So Der Ya Go!

  1. Paul T

    Hello Dick:
    Oh, yes, I can relate to the Good Old Days also. I started carrying a detector back in the 1960’s. I remember one time when I stopped and hunted a park that was never hunted before. I was digging LOTS of old coins. I had dug LOTS of silver and also 10 Indian Head Pennies. I told me self, that coins are becoming scarce, and after digging all those coins I packed up and drove home. Oh, whoa is Me.
    Some 100 coins and all keepers.

  2. fastfrank

    I feel blessed to live in the Northeast U.S.A., and enjoy hunting the cellar holes of homes once inhabited by the early colonists. I allow my mind to imagine the challenges and hardships endured by those hardy souls, while enjoying the serenity of the forest. Many times I return home with not much in my pouch, but this only adds to the thrill when I actually do find some neat relic or coin. I’m sure I would do well to follow your sagacious advice gleaned over your many years of detecting experience, and eagerly await the publication of your next book.

    • You should feel blessed Frank…I miss the northeast a great deal and regret moving here but it’s water over the damn and I can’t afford to move back.

      “Sagacious” huh….what do it mean? Remember I’m from Jersey, LOL. You have at least prodded me to work on the book some more. I have days when I am inspired to write and other days when I just want to go away somewhere (like the South of France). Thanks my friend for taking the time to comment…I appreciate it.

      • fastfrank

        Sagacious-just recognizing your many years of detecting expertise and in no way suggesting you might be a wise ass. Now, spill the info!!!Your next book may be your ticket to the French riviera.

      • I know that Frank, was just having fun, and yes I did have to look the word up. I doubt my next book will get me to the Riviera, but will get on it. Have one for me…

  3. BigTony

    Dick, it seems to me that today’s folks don’t have paticence, maybe because of today’s technology or online videos of those who have found really cool items. Then throw in development/construction, no detecting sites (detectorists keep out, private or historic property) and it makes dirt fishing really difficult. Who would have thought we were overfished in this crazy hobby.

    Our coils are small compared to huge expanses of park areas, there is more trash in parks these days, we probably need to change our methods. That is why folks look to you and others to assist them with the “how to detect these days”. Lastly, I fear that more folks will become plain old coin shooters (like me) and then there will be another problem of overfishing modern coins, YIKES! Folks will be happy to find a memorial cent from the 1970’s…..oh no, oh crap…..

    Dick get working on the new book ASAP!

    • Tony, just showing my age and frustration at not being able to do it like I used to (in every area, LOL). Taking a page from my dad I guess. On the other hand there’s a constant push to get more people into the hobby without any concern for “where” they’re going to wind up detecting, and how they’re going to go about doing it. It’s inevitably going to bite everyone on the ass. JMO.

  4. Bigtony

    Yeah, I agree. How will folks cope? So what to do when it happens? I took your advice on one of your recent posts – The other day I changed my settings. lowered my sensitivity and put on a very small coil in hopes of just plain old coin shooting and hopefully some in between-ers. I came home with a vintage dog licenses 1967 and a 2012. Funny thing was they were both form different towns other than where I was detecting…..crazy hobby for sure. I hope you find some of your groove soon.

Leave a Reply

