Just One of those Days…

Another rainy day and nothing much going on here in my little corner of the world. Haven’t been out detecting of late, lost two very dear friends last week and the Pug Bug is no longer parked in front of the house. Other than that everything is hunky dory….

Shed a few tears....

I shed a few tears….

John Howland did send me another update, mostly anti-arkie of course and while I agree with much of what he wrote I will hold off posting it for now. I’ve had my share of “downers” this week and I’m just not obsessed with the topic (or the characters) like he is.

Otherwise…

Stumbled across a new website (at least new to me), and it appears to be up on what’s new in the way of products.  Check out DetectorsLink.

Put new strings on old classical guitar thinking my gnarled old fingers might actually work with nylon strings but no dice…..just not going to happen anymore. Maybe I will give the Fender bass a try, though my amp is doubtful having been exposed to a tornado and days of rain.

If you are a movie goer make it a point to see “Lion”…..excellent flick (yeah I know I am dating myself) and my pick for best movie (not that you give a rat’s ass….)

Still working to make the man cave more to my liking and just hung my Jason Giambi New York Yankee shirt up. Can’t wait for spring training and the first pitch.

Digger is down too...

Digger misses the Pug Bug and doesn’t recognize the new car….

Working on my book has slowed of late and I need to find some inspiration to get back at it.  Hard when old friends suddenly up and leave this life….

_______________________

Nothing But a Numbers Game…

Seems what matters most is not how much fun you had detecting but how many photos and videos you shared, how many coins, rings, relics, buckles, bullets and bottles you found and how many different detectors and coils you own.

It’s a numbers game, a competition and to the winner go the spoils…and what are the spoils?  Likes, shares, comments, votes, readers, followers, viewers, listeners, members, groupies and just maybe a manufacturer connection. Oh, and “king of the hill”…..at least for the moment.  Tomorrow it starts all over again because like they say in sports, “you are only as good as your last score”, and when it comes to the manufacturer….“what have you done for me lately?”

_____________

Hang in there with me…

***********

12 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

12 responses to “Just One of those Days…

  1. Robert Egbert

    Love those pugs!!

  2. Joe

    Dick, when I read this post, I remembered an interview George Burns did shortly after he hit the century mark. The reporter asked him…

    “So how is it, having sex at 100 years old?” To which Burns replied…

    “Like trying to shoot pool with a rope.”

    A car can easily be replaced, but I’m sorry to hear about the loss of your friends. We’re all simply containers, vessels that will wither away, in time. But the memories live on, and that is what I think is missing from the pastime in this era. Too much emphasis on the equipment and the show & tell, but not enough on the actual experiences…which is the ultimate point you were trying to make, and I agree with wholeheartedly.

    No matter the endeavor in life, we all like to receive a bit of recognition, and a slap or two on the back for our efforts. But when that becomes the main objective, THE reason for doing a particular thing, we need to go back to basics and take a breather.

    As much as some in this hobby like to complicate things, at the root level, we’re all simply big kids who still like playing in the dirt and digging up cool things.

    Keep cracking on that book. “Time is free, but it’s priceless. You can’t own it, but you can use it. You can’t keep it, but you can spend it. Once you’ve lost it, you can never get it back.”

    • Thanks Joe. I really need to get you to do a post or two here…and be my shrink too. You have a way with words and a perspective I can only wish for. I will come around and snap to…just might take a couple or three days or so.

      • Joe

        It would be my pleasure to write something for your blog, Dick. However…

        Like you, I believe everything under the sun pertaining to the art of metal detecting has already been covered…in spades. So, not quite sure what else I’d be able to add to the conversation. Most of it is highly subjective anyways, or there are too many variables involved when it comes to topics regarding depth, what settings to use, etc.

        Which is one of the reasons I love your site…because you frame much of the hobby talk around your personal views/life, which is highly refreshing. I can read an article about the technical intricacies of a metal detector on 1,001 other blogs. Or which detector the author feels is best. Or how to find better hunting spots. Ad infinitum. But it all becomes a blur after a while, when all I’d really like is some extra time to get out and dig.

        Your unique viewpoint on this hobby however, has value, and is truthful. And is a whole lot more entertaining than reading yet another tired post about the proper cleaning of coins, or making an electrolysis unit. Really, who gives a shit.

        You’re on the right track, and as long as you stay true to that, you’ll be fine.

        As for the shrink bit, you don’t need one…just a good glass of red followed by a hunt at a productive new spot or two 😉

      • You said “Like you, I believe everything under the sun pertaining to the art of metal detecting has already been covered…in spades…..”

        Thanks, thought I was the only one who felt that way….I think we tend to overkill a very simple pastime with a million theories on how to walk and swing a plastic coil. And yes I know there are always beginners who need a little guidance but after that? It’s only rocket science if you want it to be.

        And thanks for the kind words about this blog. I often wonder whether things I write about are of interest to anyone, yet know full well that there are probably a big majority who don’t give a rat’s ass. Nothing wrong with that either because I feel that way too about a lot of what I read on social media. Anyway thank you for taking the time to read and to contribute. Your comments are always well written, insightful and I appreciate it.

        And for those of you who have read this far Joe is the owner of Treasure Classifieds. He also has a great blog that you access HERE….

  3. John Devereux

    Hi Dick, Easy to fall into depression under such circumstances and I speak from experience. You’ve had a tough year or so to put it mildly. Keep in mind however that your posts reach all corners of the globe and writing here in old blighty (UK) I’d like you to know that your meanderings/scribblings are much appreciated. Heck I even bought an MXT Pro on the strength of you views. In fact I’m about to go out for a couple of hours with it after writing this. Fingers crossed I find that elusive bit of gold…………..Best, John

  4. John Devereux

    Hi Dick, Well I did find gold! My first piece in the 18 months I’ve been detecting. A small 9ct gold ladies ring which pinged a solid 10 on the MXT. It’s a bit bent but otherwise intact. Well chuffed so thanks again. I’ll update you once I get it valued. :):) Best, John

  5. Coin25

    Hello Dick, sorry to hear about so much going on in your life recently. It’s never easy to lose friends or special things we hold dear to us. And not detecting in awhile – those targets will be waiting for you whenever you are ready to go find them. That is the great thing about this hobby, there are always stuff and tings to find. Oh and your book, it will be there too, just waiting for you to return with more additions to jot down for all to read worldwide.
    On a happy note for me, my daughter had her second baby boy three days ago and both are doing fine.

    • Tony congratulations on the new addition to the family. Being a grandfather I understand your joy. Fay and I became grandparents late in life and they’re all great kids. Love ’em to death.

      As for me I’m just in one those funks. The older I get the more often they occur. Currently taking one day at a time and hoping for the best.

Leave a Reply

