The MX Sport, Lukey Dukey and Big Tony from Bayonne…

Well it’s only been a week but I’ve become a very big fan of the MX Sport. I received it last Monday, worked through the various settings/setups in the evening and a good part of Tuesday in the backyard. I then decided to venture back to the old homesite that I talked about last update.

I didn’t have that much time to detect and I started out in the coin/jewelry mode, with the sensitivity set to 6, and the 8 tone ID. After finding a few bottle caps and “scrunched” cans I found a couple of wheats and a 1926 Merc which I later gave to my grandson Lucas (a.k.a. Lukey Dukey), who went out with me for the first time last week. I just wanted to show him that the site did indeed hold a few keepers.

Not a great photo of my Merc dime but while I am waiting for my new DigMaster my old (and I mean damn old), trusty screwdriver is getting the job done. Ah, the good ole days…

Sunday morning Lukey and I went back and put in a good two and a half hours, working the area where I found the Mercury dime. He was using the TreasureMaster and the day was a learning experience for him. We discussed keeping the coil level on his swings as well as overlapping sweeps. We shared beeps, targets, and talked about mystery signals that weren’t what they were supposed to be. It wasn’t too long before he dug a 1954 Roosie and that got his juices going.

lukeycollage

“Lukey Dukey” with his TreasureMaster and first silver coin…..

We had a lot of fun and came home with two Wheaties (one 1918), a clad quarter and the silver Roosie. Not a lot of finds but enough for us to know there has to be more there, especially since we only covered a very small area. We will be going back soon.

Now back to the MX Sport….. I tire easily anymore thanks to a few maladies and just being plain ole old but I didn’t this time out, and I think a lot of it had to do with the design of the Sport. Like the TreasureMaster it’s more balanced than the typical White’s “bread box” design of old and I hope they continue down that path. Weight and balance mean a lot today.

Next I was able to progress through the various programs and options easily and knew that if I got lost I could just turn it off and back on to return to the preset Coin/Jewelry program which I usually opt for. The pinpointing is spot on as is the depth reading and recovering targets was easy.  The tone ID options (4, 8 & 20) are nice to have and I found the eight tone worked best for me. I experimented with depth when I was out last Wednesday and was able to detect a dime at 6/7 inches and quarter at 8/9 (preset Coin & Jewelry). I want to work in the All Metal Mode next time out and give the “High Trash” mode a look see as well….will report back to you then.

I have been wanting to get back out in the field again and now with the MX Sport and Lukey Dukey being “hooked” on treasure hunting I do believe it’s going to happen. Thanks White’s…..you guys are the best.

__________________________

A GREAT READ FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO REALLY CARE

The War On Metal Detecting: We Are Unworthy?

__________________________

ANOTHER HUNT REPORT BUT THIS ONE FROM “BIG TONY IN BAYONNE”

Thanks to Tony Conti for sending this along….

Crazy Long Story – but happy in the end!

I had put off detecting with Geoff a few times due to the dry conditions. He contacted me again this past week and I said yes how about Saturday morning for a few hours. He said cool, Saturday will be beautiful weather.  We made arrangements to meet at 9 am in the parking lot of this park he had been wanting to detect. He had hunted it in the past but found nothing but memorials. I said well we can start there and see what develops. If it’s a dud then you can scratch that one off of your list.

Well, I get funny when I have to wake up to an alarm, probably left over from my working days…..For whatever reason I never sleep well…toss and turn and get up too early, then I get tired to early. Today was no different, I was up early and checked TC and emails before I left. I arrive at the parking lot and no Geoff, who is always early. I wait twenty minutes and finally call him, he said he is just leaving the house and will be there in thirty minutes. Ok, I said I hope you don’t mind I start detecting, he said no problem save some silver for him, oh yeah, cool high hopes.

He finally arrives after I pull up a few memorials at 6, 7 and 8 inches. Geoff this place has been landscaped, it seems they really piled on the top soil. He said well let’s try this area by the road. It looks cool, railroad nearby, river and highway too. Good area for a cross road. A guy pulls up who says he detects and lives nearby so his advice was to go elsewhere because the area has been loaded with top soil, the only thing deep are cans. So we thank him and off we go to another spot about two or three blocks away. Then a guy goes by pushing his son in a baby carriage, I say hello and he smiles. Two minutes later he comes back to ask us if we would help find his wife’s engagement ring in his back yard of a 200 year old house. Man were we happy, sounds great.

I told you this is a long story….

We get to his house and he explains the details of his property and the lost ring. Geoff continues to talk but I start a grid pattern. I soon realize that his property has been back filled also, at least 8 to 10 inches of soil and brand new seeded grass. Oh well, here we go again. I finally get a 1940 wheat cent (bad numbers but tone gave it away) it was about 6 inches down and on an angle. Geoff turns up a 1974 Kennedy half, but I thought they said 1894 so I run over to Geoff and see this dirty coin and I said what the heck, the owner said sorry I said the wrong date…..crap. I go back to the grid and get a nice nickel sound but the numbers were off and the display screen shows quarter…..I almost pass it by then it dawns on me – there is no junk here – no can slaw – no pull tabs.  I dig down and find a terrific looking ring – man we were all excited. It was about 1 and 1/2 inches down. He said she lost it about seven months ago and he has used the lawn mower several times since then. We didn’t take his lunch money reward but he offered to possibly get us onto a construction site next year and yes we exchanged information for that one.

Tony's ring find...

Tony’s ring find…

Overall I have to say – tone was the key and no junk at all in this yard cause I wouldn’t have dug those crappy numbers in a park. Again no brag about this – it was a confusing day – hoping for silver in a new spot – not getting many take home coins but did make a new friend and that really is enough.

____________________ 

soul

*************

oundhen

9 Comments

Filed under Equipment, Metal Detecting

9 responses to “The MX Sport, Lukey Dukey and Big Tony from Bayonne…

  1. Coin25

    Dick, I loved the story of Luke and his first silver coin, congratulations to him! You are a lucky man to have a terrific partner like Luke.

    I am glad that you liked my story and posted it. You know how it is – blurry photo’s are from my hands shaking as I am taking the pictures just after uncovering the find and the owner wanted to pick it up.

    I am sorry to hear that there is a “War on Metal Detecting”, thanks for the heads up.

  2. Bob

    Glad to hear you were able to go out and have some fun!

  3. Aw, c’mon now Ricardo, let’s have some English here. What in God’s name is a ‘kin ‘1954 Roosie’? Is it a misprint for ‘Floosie’?

    Lukey Dukey is a bright lad, and I hope you don’t show him round your usual haunts…Downtown speakeasies, backroom poker games, and moonshine stills; rather opting for the places I favour

    ….er, no better not…cancel that, stick to the Speakeasies, backroom poker games, and moonshine stills!

  4. It sounds like the MX Sport has opened up metal detecting for you again. That’s great news!

    – Daniel Bernzweig

  5. I am indeed enjoying the Sport. It also helps to have a grandson who wants to go detecting and an older site that has potential.

  6. Nice report and a great job passing down the hobby to a new generation.

Leave a Reply

