Just Chillin’ & Grillin’…

IMG_2915

Ten days since my last post and I am feeling guilty. During this time John Winter managed to piss off the wannabe archaeologist in Warsaw, Andy Baines found a mini stash and Aurelia is back once again detecting. Here in Texas, it’s still hot and I am at a standstill. Haven’t been detecting, bored to death reading the forums, websites, blogs (mine included), and listening to the “tune in we’re giving something away” podcasts.

Sleepy5

I’ve been trying hard to regain that feeling I had about detecting and digging that next signal, but I’m having difficulty, and I’m not sure what the answer is. Just maybe this pastime has passed me by. It’s certainly the case with what appears to be the norm today. Just crazy times and it really hit home when I read a totally unrelated article that said, and I am paraphrasing here.

“Things changed when the History Channel went from showing documentaries about the Second World War to ‘Pawn Stars’ and ‘Swamp People’. When the Discovery Channel went from showing ‘Lost Treasures of the Yangtze Valley’ to ‘Naked and Afraid’. When the Learning Channel moved from something you could learn from to ‘My 600 Pound Life’ and CBS went from airing ‘Harvest of Shame’ to airing ‘Big Brother’.”

I mean think about that….?

The times and the tastes of today have changed dramatically, and yes I know that the only constant is change, but I don’t have to like it. Sometimes in my little world things move much too fast and a few even fall off the charts. Just glad I grew up when I did.

Anyway, hang in there with me.  Just like in the past my momentary disillusionment with all things foreign will go away, and I’ll be back to sharing brainfarts and baffling you with bullshit. In the meantime I’ll be digging into some St. Louis ribs hot off the grill and watching the “Real Housewives of New Jersey”.

IMG_2915

Mmmmm….

Happy Hunting y’all!

_______________________

positive
 ***********************

18 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

18 responses to “Just Chillin’ & Grillin’…

  1. A true Texas tale – That Texas heat is a prescription for grumpiness. On my Texas road trip last month I stopped at a park east of Garland and tried some dirt fishing. After a half hour I had to head to the car before having to crawl there. Passing some shrubs I noticed a white envelope back a ways so using my extended detector shaft I was able to snatch hold of it. Here in my grabby fingers I saw a couple United Kingdom stamps, one of a queen, and one of a rather large wine bottle. The return address only had a picture of a devilish looking gent with a sly smirk on his face. The address area was pretty smudged up but I could only make out a ‘Up Yours Dick.’ Inside the envelope was . . . ALAS!. . .A genuine U. S. twenty dollar bill. That made my day.

  2. Randy Dee

    Well Dick I don’t know about you but I feel as we are entering the winter of our life… there isn’t many days between Friday and Friday, any activity takes some getting started.

  3. Robert Egbert

    Turned eighty the other day, so felt it was only right to spent a couple hours detecting. Now to be fair to the current detector we have worked this old farmhouse to a frazzle the Last few months. These new fangled machines keep you digging that’s for sure. All I had to show for better than two hours of digging was a harmonica reed. When I got home I put my XP Deus in the corner. I dug out my old Tesoro silver saber Umax With the 5.75 coil, set the discrimination close to nine. I took along my old time probe Along with my small dandelion digger, I went to the local park and popped a few quarters. I came home satisfied that my birthday wasn’t a complete waste. After all you only turn Eighty once.

    Sent from my iPad

    • Robert I can relate to that. I would love to “just” pop out a few quarters, and I am hoping that September and October will show their true colors (and temps) shortly. Thanks my friend.

  4. James M. Fielding

    I can relate, Dick. Here in Florida the temperatures have soared to 114 degrees during the afternoon and my E-Trac’s panel becomes hazy and unreadable. It’s not the machine, it’s me…almost passing out.

    I still actually read quite a bit, as I find most books operate quite well (unlike myself) not needing batteries or a new model every 3-months. I like to browse used book stores for old books, and find marvelous deals on old tomes with info that will never be found on Google. It does take more than just siting on your butt, staring at a flickering screen and pushing a buttons, but it is great for separating the wheat from the chaff!

    Scanning YouTube video’s and FB sites has become so monotonous with new “LOOK WHAT WE FOUND!” and “SHOW YOUR FINDS!” sites trolling for new “likes” and members, I feel like Bill Murray in “Groundhog Day.” One bright spot has been some of us old timers have banded with some new timers and developed a private group whereas, together, we have found and gained permission to new, untouched, sites in some pre-civil war towns that contain some amazing targets from coins to artifacts. Military buttons, Model T parts, an 1870’s brass steamboat whistle, 19th century coinage, tokens and other items we have just barely touched.

    The local residents are amazed at our finds and invite us to detect even more sites. We have come to realize that it takes a good deal of trust, good recovery practices, long-term commitment and respect to accomplish this, much of which most modern-day “newbie” metal detector hobbyists seems to lack. It takes time and actual work to pull this kind of thing off, not just pushing a button and staring at a screen, which is the route so many 21st Century citizens have been trained to take. We don’t advertise our finds on FB or YouTube, but do share them with landowners and local authorities who are very interested in these artifacts of their town’s past life. It has made metal detecting meaningful and fun again, and even somewhat respectable to others outside the hobby. I highly recommend it!

  5. James M. Fielding

    I’m thinking of maybe writing a book…at this age my attention span does wander a bit though…the heat doesn’t help, either. Thanks for the advice on the blog, Dick; perhaps I will…the hardest part would be picking a title for it…maybe “Detecting An Attitude Somewhere” or something along those lines. Cheers!

    • Love that title….will be looking for it.

      • “Detecting An Attitude Somewhere”, I reckon James could fill a chapter or three (or a whole tome even) to the one narcissist/troll/fruitcake who readily springs to mind. Then again, why pollute a perfectly good book about the world’s greatest hobby?

  6. David

    We had four days in a row last week where it never got to 80 here in East Texas and five inches of rain, it was amazing

  7. Coin25

    You’re right Dick. these days don’t seem right – with the History and Discovery channels running amuck we will have to go back to books for interesting topics. I started reading again the last few weeks – I knew something was up but couldn’t put my finger on it.

    I just don’t know how to pick a treasure lead to start off. Any suggestions on how to get started – I don’t have any particular interests.

  8. You feel this way because you’ve dug up everything. There is nothing left. I read about a guy who was off detecting for UFO parts around Roswell and actually finding weird stuff. Really, true story. Maybe that’s the next level for you. What is that for you, a 6 hour drive?

    • Not true Miner. I have not dug up everything, and even if I had the need or the urge would still be there. Like your recent blog post we wonder why we go threw the motions, but it’s the thrill of the hunt…what that next signal will be, and what story it will tell.

  9. Hi Dick:
    Slightly off topic:
    It’s reassuring that the UK’s National Trust, one of the premier heritage conservators, is part of the ‘short tunnel lobby’, the lobby calling for the massively protective option for preserving this World Heritage Site.

    In a hat-tip to democracy, the NT has invited people to fill in a survey. Brilliant. People, that’s you and me, will get the heritage WE WANT not that which the mental midgets want to foist on us all. I urge all detectorists and family members, if canvassed, to opt for the utterly brilliant ‘short tunnel’ option. I have!

    The NT has been very generous to metal detecting and now is the time for the UK hobby to get behind them.

Leave a Reply

