Weekend Sundries…

Just a few tidbits for the Father’s Day weekend…..

A LITTLE TONGUE IN CHEEK

First, if you haven’t visited the Daily Detectorist site yet be sure you do. Lots of both subtle and in your face humor, and do keep that in mind as you read…

THE DAILY DETECTORIST

NO SUCH THING!

Next, I want to respond to an email from Don, who thanked me for my blog and wished he could be a professional TH’er too…(picture me ROFLMAO).

Sorry Don, I am NOT a professional treasure hunter/detectorist, and I don’t know anyone who is. I did work for Garrett at one time, but my job title was “director of marketing” and my daily task was to promote (okay push) and sell metal detectors, not use them. Sure I did get to field test products and travel some, but the bottom line was literally the bottom line, as in profit, as in dollars and cents.  I was not being paid to dig coins or relics.  So now you know the rest of the story……

This post from 2014 is appropriate here….thank you Stan Shoemaker.

A PROFESSIONAL TREASURE HUNTER….TO BE OR NOT TO BE!

____________________________________

THINGS ARE COMING ALONG

To those of you who wonder how Fay and I are getting on…. We are slowly but surely getting used to the new house. It still isn’t “home” yet but we know that will take time. We’re sorting through boxes of items that made it through the tornado, and deciding on what to keep and what to get rid of. Very hard after 49 years of marriage, and the smaller house just adds to the dilemma.

Amesbury

In case you can’t tell Fay is the decorator and doing a great job!

____________________________________

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY

Finally Happy Father’s Day to all you dads out there. Hope there’s a little digging involved…..

FotorCreated

Happy Father’s Day dad….miss you!

____________________________________

“Mr. Jones, I have reviewed this case very carefully,” the divorce court judge said, “and I’ve decided to give your wife $750 a week.”

“That’s very fair your honor.” the husband said “and every now and then I’ll try to send her a few bucks myself”.

*************************

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Weekend Sundries…

  1. Ricardo:
    I for one know you are not a professional treasure hunter/detectorist, but what’s not widely known, is your successful career with the Bordeaux Wine Producers as their Chief Test Pilot.

    You don’t need to tell me Fay’s made a great job of the decor – her fingerprints are all over it!! She’s made the house look great and the bottle of Bordeaux (see pic, bottom left) on the table is very classy.

    Keep on truckin’

    • I would love to be in Bordeaux right about now. In fact I would love to spend the rest of my life in Bordeaux. Then you would be a constant visitor and that would be a pain in the ass.

      • I heard a vicious rumour that you once saw a roadside adverting poster that read, “DRINK CANADA DRY” and you hopped aboard a northbound flight and did. I find that really hard to believe…as I know you hate flying. I also know you won’t take umbrage at this, ‘cos you don’t know what umbrage means.

        Don’t pass the chance to get your hands on a 2004/5 Chateau Robin (from the Cotes de Castillon). Been there and sampled the goods.

        Bon chance.

      • Of course I know what umbrage means. Do you think it doesn’t rain here?

        “Don’t pass the chance to get your hands on a 2004/5 Chateau Robin (from the Cotes de Castillon)”….
        You could send a bottle for crissakes. The twenty bucks you owe me would cover the postage.

  2. Get a room you two…..for heavens sake

Leave a Reply

