Just Bumbling Around…

Stoutinitials

Not sure if it’s PTS (post tornado syndrome) or ATP (aging tekkie process), but I am having a hard time trying to talk detecting here.

Sure I know you want me to share my amazing adventures in the field, accompanied by photos and extravagant Cecile B. Demille video productions, but by now you oughta know that ain’t goin to happen. My out the door forays today center around going to the supermarket to buy vittles (that’s food for those of you shaking your head).

I keep looking online for something new and exciting that I can share or talk a about, but all I see are the same photos, videos and lame forum topics. I’m aware that the majority of you love them, and that’s fine, but when you are 75 years old and been at this as long as I have, the finds all look-alike and the plots & storylines are hard to tell apart. I mean for crissakes how many CW bullets do you need to retire?

minnie

You can never have too many…..

Back in the early days you had to wait for a magazine to see what others were finding. Today when you turn on your computer you have a hard time knowing where to start.  You have to decide who to say “great find” to, and then figure out how you can sound like you’re long time buddies with that tekkie who has 2,700 Facebook friends.  To this old fart it’s numbing at times….a blur. Oh wait, that could be the wine.

Alright forgive the sarcasm. I am just kidding (I think?) …I do remember living the pastime 24/7, and would give anything to return to that time in my life.  If you have the answer let me know. In the meantime keep checking back. You never know when I might share that long-held secret on how to find coins at 15 inches, or better yet how to find 200 minnie balls in 30 minutes.

internet

 

Getting really tired of my neighbor’s crappy Wi-Fi….

 

SPEAKING OF GOING BLIND…

Remember these?

Remember these?

Starting to go through boxes of salvaged items, and I spied a plastic container filled with 35mm slides that Fay had taken over the years. Slides that were buried in the dark recesses of the now demolished Willowbrook home. Slides that I had been looking for to scan and save on disk.

Holding each one up to the light is time-consuming. but fun at the same time. I’m finding memories galore, and will share a few here in the days ahead. Most will only appeal to the old timers, the class of which is dwindling quickly. Then again this is my blog and I really don’t give a rat’s ass what you think.  So there!

From the 80's...Eleanor Hube, yours truly, the late Paul White and the late Jack Hube.

From the 80’s…Eleanor Hube, yours truly, the late Paul White and the late Jack Hube.

We did clean up nicely. Archie Ray and I in Washington D.C. to speak at Senate Committee hearing....mid 80's.

We did clean up nicely. Archie Ray and I in Washington D.C. to speak at Senate Committee hearing….mid 80’s.

L to R, the late Charles Garrett, a "young" Vaughn Garrett, Rita Smith from Treasure Hunting magazine (UK)

L to R, the late Charles Garrett, a “young” Vaughn Garrett, Rita Smith from Treasure Hunting magazine (UK), Dennis Buchanon and Gerald Costello (NCMD) and Mick Turrell (Liesure Promotions, UK)…FMDAC banquet, Atlantic City

Showtime....rehearsing a new arrangement. early 80's

My first life….rehearsing a new arrangement. early 80’s. And yeah that’s a “real” cig in my hand.

Harry Bodofsky (first VP of Federation) and a young "tuck a buck" Bob Buttafuso. 1985 FMDAC Treasure Weekend...

Harry Bodofsky (first VP of Federation) and a young “tuck a buck” Bob Buttafuso.

*********************

10 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

10 responses to “Just Bumbling Around…

  1. Wendell

    I like the part about the internet and people would walk miles to call you the B-word. Reminds me of the movie the professionals when Lee Marvin wouldn’t let the rich guy have his wife back and murder her lover. He called Lee Marvin this word and Lee Marvin said yes sir: With me that’s an accident of birth, but you sir are a self made man….Sure wish I could have gotten into this hobby and met some of those movers and shakers and gleamed some of their experience from them. I would have loved to meet Charles Garrett and you of course.

  2. ha ha! the joke is on you Dick because I am not telling anyone the secret to finding coins at 15 inches. Let me also remind you that you are retired so you can spend all day looking at those transparencies. I am sure you’re well aware that before the Web, you could buy stock photography slides through the mail. Finally, is that a base guitar you’re holding along with the ‘cig’? That explains everything!
    I have yet to dig up a Seated coin so I have not reached yet the stage of having seen everything but when I do get there, I think I’ll take up knitting.

    • Well i know you will be the first to find that dime at 15 inches….you are the “Blisstool” man. And yes that is a bass guitar…..it’s the deepest instrument I could find, and it can detect a dime at…..

  3. I just remembered this and it seems appropriate here….

    “I’ve come up with a set of rules that describe our reactions to technologies:

    1. Anything that is in the world when you’re born is normal and ordinary and is just a natural part of the way the world works.

    2. Anything that’s invented between when you’re fifteen and thirty-five is new and exciting and revolutionary and you can probably get a career in it.

    3. Anything invented after you’re thirty-five is against the natural order of things.”

    ― Douglas Adams, The Salmon of Doubt

  4. Yo Bubba:
    “Not sure if it’s PTS (post tornado syndrome) or ATP (aging tekkie process),….” you write. Maybe it’s PMT? JMO. Vittles? That Texan for Merlot?

    “I am having a hard time trying to talk detecting here.” So no change here then! That ‘ciggie’ looks like a pencil to me; and who is the young guy with the guitar?

    Keep on truckin’

  5. Coin25

    I find it extremely difficult to purchase a detector at 2 to 4 thousand dollars to find coins in a field no matter how deep they are, talk about return on investment…..maybe Douglas Adams is right and that is why the young folks (or their wives) spend the cash.
    The way I confront this new technology is to change the settings on my old detector and viola! I have a new detector, that I don’t have to re-learn……

  6. “I find it extremely difficult to purchase a detector at 2 to 4 thousand dollar….” Tony it’s not extremely difficult for me. It’s impossible!

Leave a Reply

