No Rocky Mountain High…

I flew home from Denver Monday morning on what might be called the “pink eye flight”.  Frontier flight 124 left at 6am, and how I managed to even be on it is a major miracle. I am an early riser, but jeezus a wakeup call up at 2:00 in the morning borders on elder abuse. 
Add in the confusing maze they call Denver International Airport, and you have a felony of the highest degree.  It’s now Wednesday night and I am still trying to catch up both mentally and physically.

I flew to Denver to see my brother Phil, who is 76, and currently in an assisted living situation.  I visited him a year ago today, and he was able to walk and go for car rides .  This year?  He’s wheel chair bound, and has great difficulty communicating.  His malady and prognosis?  We don’t really know. It’s been somewhat of a mystery, but suffice to say he’s slowly but surely going down hill.

Phil and I….

Despite Phil’s problems, I am happy to say he has still has his wit.  While sitting with him in the entrance area, a young and very attractive gal walked in.  Phil managed to lift his head, gave her a once over and said “she can stay”.  He also loses track of time and day, and he fell one evening “on his way to breakfast”. When they asked why he was going to breakfast in the evening he replied “you know, that’s a damn good question”!  Finally, niece and nephew bought him what is called a “dementia clock” to help him keep track of time, but according to Phil, “it bullshits once in a while”.

The bullshit clock

The bullshit clock

So I am home, trying to get back to semi-normal (haven’t been normal for some time). I’ve not been able to catch up on lost sleep thanks to Digger’s built in clock that says “I need to lift my leg badly”, and then of course once I am up, it’s coffee, the paper and my turn to lift my leg, or something like that.

Anyway it’s “Big Tex” time here in Dallas….  usually the best time of year for weather and temps, but so far…. nada! Ground is still hard, and rain is something we now look up in the dictionary. Here’s hoping cool days, wet days and good finds get here soon.

Yeah I know this has  nothing at all to do with detecting, but hey, it’s my blog, not yours.  Complain, and I will tell you about my hernia next time….

____________________________

REBEL GOLD IS EMBARRASING

Remembered to tune in Rebel Gold last night, and while my Yankees were stinking up the stadium, they were a helluva lot better than RG. I lasted through the first segment, the ridiculously long commercial break, and twenty seconds of the second segment.  It was just pure bullshit, and I felt embarrassed watching it.  Never again…..

____________________________

“The Kindest word to describe my performance in school is sloth”….Harrison Ford

14 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

14 responses to “No Rocky Mountain High…

  1. Lisa MacIntyre

    I’m so sorry to hear about your brothers health. Must be even more frustrating since they dont know whats wrong. Sounds like a funny guy! Been in the Denver airport. I remember walking for what had to be ten miles and then couldn’t find the front door. I was thinking I just might have to live and die there. Glad you made it home safe and sound. I’m sure Digger is glad too!

  2. Joe

    Dick, glad you made it out there to see your brother. To be sure, our life on this big, spinning orb, drifting through space, is a short one. Time is one of the most precious commodities. So, spending it to the fullest, with love & laughter, is wise. The moments you had with Phil can never be taken away, and will live with you for the rest of your days. I hope & pray he does well, and I thank you for sharing this touching story 🙂

  3. danhughes1

    Dick, your hernia-story threat reminded me of this story.

    A few years ago I was talking to Peg Lynch, a radio actress of the 1950s who wrote and starred in a show called Ethel and Albert (a really funny show, by the way). She told me that she once attended a banquet where she was to be seated at a table with Jack Benny, George Burns, Groucho Marx, and Bob Hope.

    Peg said she was super excited – she couldn’t wait to hear the hilarious table talk from these legendary comedians.

    And then she frowned and said, “And you know what? Through the whole dinner, all they talked about was their BODILY PLUMBING!”

    • Hah, I can somehow see that…. So maybe I should have left the hernia threat out and went with my plumbing woes?

      Nah, have a feeling tekkies would have had too much fun with that.

    • Doug Frantz

      Yikes ! I hope she got someone to take a photograph of those four with her. Don’t know if I’ve seen a picture of all four together, but there must be one.

  4. Angelika

    I don’t know how you do it, but you seem to make lemonade out of lemons. As well as your brother! Thank you for keeping the light shining in this blog, you keep all spirits high!

  5. Andy Baines

    Glad you got back safe and sound Dick, hope your OK buddy.

    Andy

  6. I did Andy, thanks. Just not the traveling man I used to be.

  7. Bigtony

    Dick, glad to hear that you made that visit and I am sorry to hear of his declining health. But he needed to see you too!

    I too turned out of that RG show and my son asked me again – Why are they wearing camo? Do they sneak up on coins/relics that they don’t want to run away?

    Thanks for Andy’s video, interesting way of finding coins. Now I know why on my Minelab machine allows you to select “Iron Coins” from the choices.

    • Tony, thanks…

      The camo thing just lends a paramilitary look to our pastime, and we have enough problems with out that. JMO.

      As for Andy, he has patience fore sure…. I would probably whack my head with the damn thing.

Leave a Reply

