Just Regressing Again…

change2Feeling a little more optimistic today….  Cold front came through yesterday, bringing a little rain with it, and now we are only in the mid to high 90’s.  Sounds crazy I know, but when you live in Texas you can feel that difference. Here’s hoping the trend continues.

Yesterday, for whatever stupid reason, I decided to tidy up the man cave, and started organizing my treasure magazines. Never a quick task in that I always wind up flipping through pages, and rereading articles. Likewise the old detector ads always bring back memories, and a little touch of melancholy.  As a result I decided to throw this out there….

WHAT DO YOU REALLY NEED IN A DETECTOR?

You know how I feel about the seemingly over-the-top efforts to make our pastime more complicated, so let me ask you…what do YOU really NEED in a detector to make you a successful treasure hunter?  What feature(s) can you simply not be without and why?  Not a futuristic wish list mind you….just what is already out there.

Next, I want you to look at the “features” on this Fisher 1266x detector from the late 80’s and tell me why we need anything more. Here again I am talking absolute bare essentials.

1266

The 1266 has two disc modes, one of which “could” serve as an all metal mode if turned to zero (yes I know that’s not a “true all metal mode), and the other to whatever level of discrimination you want or need.  The 1266X also has a trigger switch mounted on the handle that enables the user to switch back and forth between modes. It also has a sensitivity/depth control, as well as a volume control.

The Fisher 1266 was an extremely popular detector back in the late 80’s &90’s, especially among relic hunters.  Their depth on small items was excellent (a dime or button at ten inches with no disc) and it had a very fast recovery speed.  Check the going price on Ebay and you will see they are still highly regarded.

The two drawbacks to the 1266?  It had preset ground balance, and was it was extremely sensitive, causing it to chirp, burp and crackle in trashy areas. Once you got used to it however it was a real winner. 

There were, and still are, other detectors similar to the 1266, but the point I am trying to make is that the functions and settings are self-explanatory, and offer me all I need when it comes to a metal detector? 

tejon

Today’s Tesoro Tejon is another detector that has all the “basics without a lot of fluff”

 

I know I am reliving the past, and being overly simplistic, so hit me with your best shot ,and tell me what you must have to be successful, and at what cost? 

__________________________

IN THE NEWS

4.5 Million Found in 8 Feet of Water

Has the Nazi Gold Train Been Found

_________________________

WHAT DO YOU SEE HERE?

Thanks to Dave Milstead for sharing the following.  It’s already a favorite of mine for a lot of reasons.

******************
 

14 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

14 responses to “Just Regressing Again…

  1. I am saving my pennies for the new F44. It has all the features that I like. Personally, I like a display. The price and weight of the machine is a big plus. I am getting up there in age(66 this November) and I do not have much relic hunting where I live, and am quite limited to where I can hunt. Even most schools are fenced in and locked up. So, I have become a clad hunter in parks and schools and occasionally gain access to a vacant lot (my favorite place to hunt).

    My time spent detecting is a mere three hours, and since I expect to dig mainly clad, I like to retrieve as much as possible for the time I spend hunting. I do not have need of a high dollar, heavy machine with 10,000 settings. Of course, silver coins, rings and what little gold I find is always welcomed, but I must admit that I discriminate out the junk signals, and place my attention to the clad and silver.

    Now, this being said, where I hunt determines what detector I will use, and the setup of the detector I am using. The detectors in my inventory right now are the Fisher F75 upgraded, and the Fisher F5. My very first detector was purchased in 1971 and was a Whites Coinmaster IV and it had all the latest bells and whistles at the time.

    • James, what are the features that you like?

      • I think I will like them all:
        Weatherproof
        Operates on 2 AA Batteries (25-30 Hours)
        Fe-Tone® (Adjustable Iron Audio)
        Ground Grab® Computerized Ground Balancing
        Manual Ground Balance
        9-Segment Visual Target-ID
        Large 2-Digit, 1-99 Numeric Target-ID
        Iron Identifier Icon
        Backlight for Low Light Conditions
        5 Modes of Operation: JEWELRY, COIN, ARTIFACT, CUSTOM, ALL METAL
        Pinpoint
        20 Levels of Adjustable Sensitivity
        20 Levels of Adjustable Volume
        4-Tone Audio-ID
        Non-Volatile Memory Saves Settings
        11-Inch Concentric Elliptical Waterproof Searchcoil
        Ultra-lightweight Only 2.3 lbs. Operational Weight
        7.69 kHz. Operating Frequency

        I am going to like having these features and I like the features of the F75 and the F5. I think I will like the F44. I would probably like the TreasureMaster as well as several others. I am not pushing any certain brand of detector and not hung up on any certain brand.. I have had many detectors from many manufacturers. I do like the detectors I now own. I have had the F75 since 2008 and have hundreds of hours of use with it. There are so many detectors and people have many different likes, wants and needs and there are many different locations and ways to hunt. What it all comes down to is, what detector one likes and knows and trusts. I personally like a mid priced detector that has a minimum of a large display, manual GB, discrimination, multitoned and is lightweight.

      • Damn James, you want it all….LOL. We have become so dependent on technology…..

    • Roy Rutledge

      James do you still have the old Whites?

  2. Joseph Sherrod

    I think that the Fisher 1266X is a definite sleeper for today! Not many of the club members still use one, but I like mine!! It goes deep. I have taken all my detectors to this particular old field over the years (45years now). I thought that it was worked out. Just every outing it was diminishing returns. Well this past spring after all of the wet weather stopped. I went to this field with my Fisher 1266X with the 10 inch coil….I found a lot of school yard type junk very deep….anyway….the best find was a 10K Gold Initial type ring that was popular back in the 1960’s.

    One does not need the Visual Target Identification system to find the old and deep objects. Probably the deepest detector for coin and relic hunting that I currently use…..and if you saw my room…you would know that I have a lot to chose from.

    • Joe, sounds like you and I are promoting this particular detector, but I am not. Just stating a fact, and trying to prove my point that all the extra bells and whistles are not needed.

      • When I worked for Garrett I was constantly being challenged by Fisher users who wanted to make the Freedom III (our attempt to counter the 1266) look bad. They always won….

  3. Roy Rutledge

    I used a 1260 then the 1265 and then the 1266, always looking for just a little edge on other detectors.Then I went to the Tejon. Lighter weight and less chirpy then the 1260 line of detectors. I really like the lighter weight of the Tejon. The Tejon seemed to have a little edge on depth over the 1266, not much but enough to justify using it in the Civil War sites. And of course here in Texas, lighter weight in the heat of summer is very good. Less weight equals less fatigue . Therefore longer time to hunt.

  4. bigtony

    Dick, great article even though I was not a fan of pots type of detectors, I did purchase a Grand Master Hunter cx3 from Garrett, and I believe you were on the phone one day when I had a coil problem, and you advised me to send it in for a look. They did replace the coil and that was terrific.

    Just recently I tried to get the dang thing running, but I am having a battery problem. It seems the compartment is not making good contact. What do you suggest? Take it out and put in another type of battery case? Probably they don’t make these any longer.

    • Tony, when the Grandmaster came on the market (spring of 88), there was an inherent problem with the detector suddenly shutting down. Took hours and hours for the engineering department to find the culprit. It was the contact in the battery compartment. It needed to be bent slighly or something along that line. You might want to look in there….it was the compartment contact, NOT the ones on the battery holder.

      If that doesn’t do the trick, do send it back. I feel certain they would be able to fix it. Give them a call or email to find out.
      When that problem started occurring we had a lot of distributors, dealers and customers screaming at us. Within the factory it was called the “Grand Disaster”…..

  5. bigtony

    Oh wow, you made me remember a friend having that problem with his new machine. I called for him and they told me how to reboot the machine pressing two buttons and it worked.
    Thanks for the info – I’ll try to fix it later this week.
    Thanks again

Leave a Reply

