Boot Camp For Big Spenders…

I wanted to start off this update by sharing a comment John Winter made in response to my blog post of May 25th (Follow-up to Finding the Very Best Detector)….

“In the past few years I have written several stories about newbie detectorists who have bought a ‘simple’ machine, usually an Ace and found Saxon burials, hoards of coins and other AWESOME significant items.

The reason is two-fold. Not knowing the regulations and desperate for land on which to search, they go on where the established detectorist in the UK wouldn’t – because he/she doesn’t have permission.

Secondly, they don’t have hang-ups about machines, the popularity or what they cost. They are at the stage where the quest is what is most important.

Unfortunately, after making the BIG find and flush with money, they go out and buy a machine costing £2000 thinking they will make bigger and better discoveries. Or they are seduced by manufacturers who offer them with high-end machines. They inevitably end up disillusioned.”

*******************************

John’s response is astute, well stated and leads me to today’s post….

It’s about the rich and the poor. The have’s and the have-nots, and the wannabes and the realists. The tekkies who think the more they spend the better the results, and those who are just having fun with the detector they could afford. I was also going to use the words gullible and discerning but decided they were a bit too harsh.

And now….Tada!!  We have “boot camps”!  Yep, boot camps!  Training classes for those who bought these very expensive detectors, and want to learn how to use them get the most out of them. In this particular case the two models are the Minelab CTX3030 and the XP Deus, and please, I am not bashing these detectors or companies. I have heard nothing but good things about both, and there’s nobody better than Andy Sabisch to learn from.

If you aren’t familiar with these events here’s the skinny….

The Minelab Boot Camp

The XP Deus Boot Camp

boot878

I knew these classes were around but never really looked at them in detail because I had no reason to. I am a simple man, with simple tastes, and very empty pockets. I also know it doesn’t matter how much you spend on a detector, how many times you read the manual, or how many boot camps you take.  If you are not hunting in the right place it’s all for naught.

I discussed these classes with my pub pal from Bournemouth, and he thinks they are a great idea.  Tells me no one is twisting anyone’s arms, and if tekkies want to pony up $125 for a class, it’s their business.  He’s right of course, but its weird hearing that from the tightest SOB I’ve ever met.  Anyway if you are attending or have attended any of these boot camps, let me know if they lived up to your expectations. If they did and If you want to learn even more, send me $20 (cash only), and I will send you a pamphlet titled “The Secrets They Didn’t Teach You at Boot Camp”.

PS: My only boot camp experience was a long time ago. It lasted 12 weeks, was free, and not a helluva lot of fun….

_______________________________________

SPEAKING OF EXPENSIVE…

John Howland just sent me this and it somehow seems appropriate give my blurb above.  Thanks Bubba.

Is It Worth Twenty Big ‘Uns?

by John Howland

Howl5

If as some people imagine that success in the sport of treasure hunting depends on the price of one’s microchip technology, how much cash would you splash on electronic wizardry? For example, do you remember all that fuss and hoo-hah among the treasure community when Minelab brought out a range of metal detectors with arm-and-a-leg price tags? Well, even Minelab’s top-of-the-range gizmos are small beer to what’s on offer.

Twenty Grand ($20K) will get you one of Fitzgerald’s Professional Precision Locators, described on their website blurb as….”The Treasure Navigator is our top of the line Long Range Locator (LRL). Years of testing, research and development have made this locator the most desirable LRL world wide. Reports of treasures being found while using the Navigator have clients contacting us on a daily basis.”

It continues….”The Treasure Navigator is an extremely versatile treasure hunting tool, capable of generating a variety of signals for Gold, Silver, Diamond, Currency, and many other items (all signals are generated using microprocessor techniques to establish high accuracy and precision).”

Wow, I’m all-ears and Fitzgerald really has my undivided attention. In a testimonial about the machine’s efficacy from one “G. Walter,” who describes himself as a “Worldwide Treasure Hunter,” soothingly reassures doubters …” I bought just about every locator on the market and was ready to give up on treasure hunting. This is when I found “Fitzgerald’s”. I can’t say enough about their locators and product support! Just one good find allows a person to follow his life long dream and quit his daily job and a life of going nowhere.”

So ‘G Walter’ reckons he can’t say enough about the product, eh?

What then makes the Treasure Navigator so special? For a start it’s made in the US  with a claimed  operational range of…”Miles Plus (adjustable).”  Its depth capabilities the website helpfully informs us that its been….”Tested to 200 feet, adaptable for water searches and oil field exploration,” and thoughtfully works on a…”Rechargable 12 volt system.” Added to which, the blurb further enlightens us, will locate… “All Gold, Platinum, Silver, Currency, Diamonds, Coinage.”  Wait! There’s more!

Yep, there’s TFN too. You don’t have a clue what TFN is? I didn’t either until I read the blurbs:-

“Found only on VectorTrek locators!!!” Our “Target Reflection Nullifier” (TRN) circuit is a MUST on any long range locator. This circuit allows you to nullify or cancel out Target Reflections, associated with long time buried targets. (Some people commonly call these ghost signals which other MFD systems lock onto rather than the real target.) This circuit will allow you to cancel out this reflection and move it to the correct location. Unit can be placed in ground via probe or just placed in your pocket. TRN will work either way!!!” Oh, right…that brings it all into focus.

Skeptics of course, will poo-pooh the claims, but for  more data on this amazing machine go to: http://www.treasurenow.com/html/products.html

I really am sold on the concept of Target Reflection Nullifier; in fact .I’ve already pressed it into service as a baffling technical reply following a find-free day’s detecting when I’m  asked what I’ve found …as in…’Nothing! My targets were all reflection nullified.’

Works for me!

______________________________

Do you ever think about all the really nice drunk people you’ve met in bathrooms and wonder how they’re doing?

I miss all of you!

**************************

20 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

20 responses to “Boot Camp For Big Spenders…

  1. Frank L

    Geez,Louise, how can otherwise intelligent people be so damn gullible. You
    Would think after the fiasco with those Pennsylvania made gadgets that people would have wisedup by now. If you have ESP, you can do just as well with a string with an object attached. I don’t have it but I know a man who does. Get real, people

    • Frank I use two willow twigs….

      • Oooh, Ricardo – two willow twigs, eh? You kinky old devil! What no handcuffs either? Ha! Ha!
        S&M aside for the moment. One fact is non-negotiable: The metal detector is simply the technical means of proving, or not, a ‘hunch’ gleaned from past experience as to where treasure might be uncovered. That experience costs a whole lot more than $125.

      • Guess I am in the minority. I can’t afford $125….

  2. Don M

    I just go where the voices tell me to go ;->

  3. Big Tony

    Hello John H, please don’t just blame the newbie – it could be an archie with a metal detector and a head lamp on.
    As for a class to learn how to detect – wow we have come a long way in this hobby…and as part of the registration process – they get to keep 35% of your finds for two years

  4. Hi Big Tony
    We certainly have come a long way. These courses can only have a positive effect on the sport. I hope that attendees will be trained to OUR standards and not those of archaeology which seeks to impose its ethics (such as they are) and THIER Codes of Conduct on on OUR hobby. It’s a great pity our national bodies can’t organise something similar.

    Ignorance is not the preserve of newbies either. Some years ago, one of our arkie ‘friends’ commented that he was horrified to know that a Garrett Sea Hunter could operate at 200-ft thus ‘damaging’ layer upon layer of ‘stratigraphy. Someone had a quiet word in his ear to gently inform him that the 200-ft referred to, was the maximum water-pressure depth at which it was designed to operate.

    All the best.

  5. wendell

    I went to the class of hard knocks myself. If there was a local dealer who could have shown me a few tricks, that would have been great. I bought online and learned and I’m still learning on my own. Hope I don’t run into Drill Instructor Ermey, he’s something else. We all remember our drill instructors and laugh at the hell they put us thru so many years ago, but we were young and strong and full of piss and vinegar then. I just never had enough sense to quit. $125.00 isn’t much for people buying the expensive detectors, but it would be for me.

  6. Big Tony

    Yeah maybe a class will be a positive idea for the hobby. I know for a facr that the manuals Andy S. produces are very helpful.

  7. Big Tony

    Wow, could you imagine if you, John and myself were all in this class and there were no libations? Boy we would have to talk shop and nothing else!

  8. Big Tony

    Ok Dick then we can skype him afterf class!

  9. I’m not going back to boot camp either. I was hoping to just buy another detector like I have.I thought the next big thing was going to be including a box of cheap lemon cookies with the Ace 250.

  10. Big Tony

    Besides the cookies you get a camo ball cap with LED lights under the brim for night/dark hunting conditions.
    I saw them at Lowes for 7.95 plus tax just yesterday.

  11. Joe Smith

    I always get a kick out of the Jones in any hobby that I’m supposed to be wanting to keep up with. When big bucks are spent on unnecessary frills, it makes me wonder what is lacking in a persons life.

    This may explain it …

    http://imgur.com/gallery/n5q8t

Leave a Reply

