Rainy Day Ramblings…

 FOLLOW-UP TO FINDING THE VERY BEST DETECTOR…

Okay, had an email from RD who was somewhat pissed at my last blog post, Finding the Very Best Detector.  He more or less said I was way off base because he was sure he had the best detector, and you guessed it, it was the most expensive model on the market.  So der ya go. I stand corrected. I got it wrong…

Apparently RD has come up with various programs, settings, set-ups, sit-ups, concerts, schemes and whippty-do’s, that would find stuff in places that everyone had given up on, and when he added that triple D, open-faced, sandwich, coil (with mustard) he was finding coins and buttons down to 18 and 20 inches.

Alright I am being a little facetious. Sorry.  My point in that particular post was that all things needed to be equal in order to proclaim a clear-cut winner, and that I didn’t think there was a such foolproof test out there .  Might his detector have won such a contest? Possibly, but would it perform equally as well in a different setting, under different conditions. Who knows, and better yet, who really cares? I know I don’t.

I have a detector I am happy with. Would I find more with RD’s expensive model?  My guess is probably not. It’s much too heavy for me, and I have no interest in spending hours trying to understand and decipher all the various controls, graphs, settings, etc..   There was a time when I would have, but not now.  I just want to find old coins, have fun, and I think there’s sufficient coinage in the first 8 inches of soil to make me happy.  So RD, I will give you the benefit of a doubt….you have the best detector, HOWEVER if you are thinking of challenging other tekkies, don’t bet a whole lot of money!

______________________________

RAINY DAY DO’S….

Hope you all had a great holiday weekend. Here in the Lone Star State we had rain, and lots of it, with a few thunderstorms and tornado warnings thrown in, but given our past drought conditions, we’ll take it.

IMG_1224_edited-1

2nd edition, Successful Coin Hunting, by Charles Garrett

Because of the weather I found myself writing, mailing off books and perusing a lot of old treasure hunting books. I am not sure why but most of the newer books on the market today just don’t measure up. Sure they are more  loaded with lots of photos, but they just seem to lack the info that gets you enthused.  Plus, a few of those that came afterward were ghost written, based on notes written by the namesake on the cover.

Case in point? “Successful Coin Hunting”, by Charles Garrett.(first and second editions only). The grammar may not always be the best but you knew it was written by Charles, and that he put his heart and soul into it. You can open these original editions at any page and find something interesting and useful. Subsequent editions were written by others and in my opinion, never measured up.

A few other books that fall into the “good stuff” category are all the Karl von Mueller manuals, and Glenn Carson books. Not fancy or colorful but filled with very good information. Information that’s still valid and useful today. Glenn also printed the Treasure Hunting Annuals and Treasure Hunter Yearbooks.

IMG_1251_edited-1

Then there were the gigantic Kellyco catalogs….talk about “john material”!  Well they are no more, and how I wish I had saved a few. Today you will find all that detailed info on their website, which is a pretty darn good one.

Finally, there was nothing like getting the Exanimo Express, (changed later to Treasure Hunter Express) newspapers. Paul Tainter’s publications were filled with treasure tales, leads and down to earth practical info.  Paul still cranks out a quarterly Treasure Hunter Express, and they always make my day when I find them in my mail box.

Hell, today a few metal detector manuals are larger than these books, and terribly boring to read. Oh, for the good ole days!

_______________________________

havingitall

****************** 

10 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

10 responses to “Rainy Day Ramblings…

  1. RoyR

    I for one do not want to dig a hole 18 to 20 inches deep to get a stinking Lincon. Or for that matter any coin at that depth.

  2. coin25...aka Bigtony

    Dick, I did the same thing here in NJ this past week even though we haven’t had rain in a long time…the old books are still great reads. I have a few of yours, Charles Garrett’s and Glen Carson’s, Karl Von Muller’s, along with about 15 of others that I take out from time to time.

  3. Talking about books Dick, my nephew has passed on to me a small paperback about treasure hunting that he found in a local charity shop a little while ago.. It was written by your mate John. Its called Treasure from British Waters, by John Howland. I’m looking forward to reading it on our next rainy day.

  4. James

    The ‘best’ detector is not necessarily the most expensive detector. The ‘best’ detector is the one you know and trust the most and is not so heavy that you can swing for hours. Expensive is not always the best.

  5. I agree James, but unfortunately there are still people out there who equate cost with success. Hope you are doing well.

  6. What would interest me would be hearing honest opinions from people that post finds with higher dollar machines. I would like to know if they thought they would have found whatever they found if they were using an Ace 250. I would like to see what per-centage of finds people feel could have been found with a lower dollar detector.

    Of course, that would only be opinion and perhaps not all would be honest. What I would really like to see is a hunt on undisturbed ground using a high dollar machine and an Ace 250. The high dollar machine could first find the target and then be switched off and then an Ace 250 could be swung over the target.

    I would like to see what per-cent of the targets would be found with the low dollar machine.
    I’d do it myself if I weren’t satisfied that I have the machine I need. I wouldn’t do it if I upgrade because I wouldn’t want to take a chance on proving to myself I wasted my money. It’s going to take someone else to do the job.

  7. wintersen

    In the past few years I have written several stories about newbie detectorists who have bought a ‘simple’ machine, usually an Ace and found Saxon burials, hoards of coins and other AWESOME significant items.

    The reason is two-fold. Not knowing the regulations and desperate for land on which to search, they go on where the established detectorist in the UK wouldn’t – because he/she doesn’t have permission.

    Secondly, they don’t have hang-ups about machines, the popularity or what they cost. They are at the stage where the quest is what is most important.

    Unfortunately, after making the BIG find and flush with money, they go out and buy a machine costing £2000 thinking they will make bigger and better discoveries. Or they are seduced by manufacturers who offer them with high end machines. They inevitably end up disillusioned.

Leave a Reply

