The More the Merrier?

I see where Minelab has now come out with a line called Go-Find, consisting of three detectors for the beginner. The Go-Find model 20 sells for $179, the 40, $229 and the 60, $309. Quite a contrast to the GPZ 7000, also a recent release, priced at $12,500.

gofind

These detectors are quite unique in their design, and it will be interesting to see how and where they will be marketed.

This Go-Finds will be competing with the very popular Garrett Ace series, and while I welcome newcomers, I worry about the continued mass marketing of our pastime. I understand the business end of it, and I do want more people to participate, but at what price?  What sort of free for all will ensue?  How many more will there be competing for places to hunt and worse yet, how many will “unintentionally” ignore our code of ethics, resulting in even more restrictions?

I don’t have the answers, but here’s hoping EVERY manufacturer will start concentrating on educating the end-user, and in the process preserve their livelihood and our pastime. Time will tell….

________________________

southfrance

 ***************

13 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

13 responses to “The More the Merrier?

  1. lol Love your new past time, Dick. Anywayz, I agree with you, it is getting ridiculous. I haven’t been in the hobby half as long as you, but during my time in the hobby I have seen enough “next best thing” detectors to make me shake my head. There is a buzz surrounding these detectors, but I already know that they aren’t for me. They look like a SuperSoaker squirt gun with a BBQ grill attached to the end. We already get enough questions from the community about what we are doing. I can imagine the responses I would get in y local parks if I walked around swinging one of these things around while talking to myself. Well, I’m not really talking to myself, but to my video glasses… anyway, I think you get my point haha

    • Rob, not really dissing the detectors. They might be very good. Just worried about the influx of newbies who have good intentions, but might not grasp the “how to” part of it.

      And I love Pétanque.

      • I agree, they may be good detectors, I wasn’t trying to diss ’em either but like every other product out there, they’re probably not for everyone. 🙂 Time will tell soon what the consensus is I s’pose.

        Luckily for us, the newer breed of detectorists, for the most part are internet savvy. They have information at their finger tips that many ‘old timers’ didn’t have. In most instances that translates to a more educated beginner than we used to have. I definitely relate to the concerns you’ve raised but at the same time from what I’ve seen most of the newbies are searching out information on how to detect responsibly. It’s the rest that we have to work harder to steer in the right direction. You bring up some valid points 🙂

  2. James/Texas

    The bigger portion of them that purchase a detector do not last long in the hobby. Then the detector is put in a closet, forgotten and the batteries go bad and ruin the detector. These people last just long enough to dig craters in the parks, and leave the spoils without giving a thought of covering the hole. Their big idea of getting rich just didn’t happen. They give up. The rest find a friend that knows the hobby and is taught the right way to go about it and most of them will end up joining a club. I would imagine the new detectors by Minelab will be a good detector and be right in line with the rest. I think they are smart in developing an entry line of detectors. Time will tell.

    • heavymetalnut

      Education is very important and I agree with the replies.With the TV shows putting high dollar figures on items that are not realistic gives people the idea that they are going to strike it rich and with one purchase they are out the door with shovel in hand with no knowledge on digging techniques and patience. Like James said…after finding some bottle caps,tin foil and pull tabs.most machines go in the closet or end up on flea bay.
      Aside from a few cherished pieces of history in my collection after 30 years of detecting,the real treasures I have gained is some great friends,many good times and learning a ton of history on coins and relics that may have been lost forever.

  3. Bigtony

    Dick, maybe you hit the nail on the proverbial head once again – EDUCATION – to anyone who purchases a new detector and or joins a detecting club. Sounds simple enough – I know the mags do list a code of ethics but your right we need to do more then posting a few lines of print.

    • Tony, back in the 80’s we had the manufacturers inserting a sheet in every detector shipped. It included the code of ethics and the contact info for the FMDAC. Whatever happened to that practice? I have no clue.

  4. Bigtony

    Dick,they wanted to say on paper? Or printing of it? But maybe that stuff doesn’t even get a quick read from the buyer. But I see now of the importance of a National Organizaton would have on folks. Ah for the good old days…..maybe in this age of tech devices – they can add a recording that goes off when you open the box or the first time you turn on the detector.

    • As I remember the sheet also had a nice “how to dig a target” diagram by Bob Sickler, and it was well received. While the same thing today would not be a guarantee that newbies would not leave holes, it would certainly be better than nothing. As for the national organization….we don’t have one.

  5. coin25...aka Bigtony

    Dick, you and I and anyone else who wants to chime in – should write up a form letter and agree on it before we mail it out to ever manufacturer – it can’t be that hard to communicate our intentions

  6. Bigtony

    Yeah, your right, I shouldn’t volunteer – it doesn’t pay as much as the US MInt pays me to metal detect and recycle their coins. Dan Huges said there are seven billon us coins in circulation these days. Amazing how does he have the time to count them all?

Leave a Reply

