Yep, Still a Weenie…

 FROM MY WEBSITE….NOVEMBER 2010

When I was out detecting the other day I realized I don’t have the stamina I used to have, and that maybe I am falling by the wayside. Likewise I was feeling somewhat out classed by the detector in my hands.   I was using the V3i, a detector I like a great deal, but because I wasn’t finding things in good order I begin to push pads, pull triggers, increase and decrease settings and change coils. The end result was one silver quarter and few wheat cents. Not a good day compared to years ago, but also not a bad day, given the heavily hunted area I was searching and today’s competition.

I tend to remember the way it was back when, and how all I needed to do was ground balance, and move out. Go slow, listen for the whispers and dig! That procedure worked for quite a few years, and then I (and many others) started watching screens, visual ID’s, and were under the spell of “if that’s what it says, that’s what it must be”….

Computerized detectors are most certainly the way it will be from here on out, and as they continue to evolve, there will be even more things to consider, turn, adjust and tweak. Today we can set the audio tone, the volume, the sensitivity, the SAT, the notch, the scan speed, and we can choose among multiple frequencies, pre-set programs or we can create our own.  We can pinpoint visually, and we can determine our targets based on numbers, photo’s and graphs. The choices and options are endless, and one can spend days experimenting with them.

Now I just want to have fun, and turn a couple of knobs (knobs…remember those things?).  A sign of getting old I know, but I would love to go back to the days when it seemed so simple. Give me a lightweight, turn on and go machine that offers an inch or two more depth than the competition, and I will be happy. I am not opposed to innovation, and I love computers, but I firmly believe that a lightweight, simplified, deepseeking metal detector would be a big seller.

When I worked for Garrett Electronics back in 1988 we came out with the Grand Master, the company’s first computerized detector, and when I talked to Fred Brust (a Garrett Distributor at the time), I will never forget his comments. He said, “Dick, forget all that stuff. Just give me a detector that will go an inch deeper than the rest, and I will sell the hell out of it!”

Don’t get me wrong. I love my V3i and my MXT, and will continue to use both in various settings, but after all is said and done I still pretty much opt for the coin/jewelry program. I turn em on, and get movin….

disappointment

 

Today?  Even less stamina and still waiting for that “one knob turn on and go” jobber….

____________________________________________

CLUB WEBSITES

I plan on updating the club website links, and if your club is not listed please let me know.  Please no links to dealers….

*********************** 

7 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

7 responses to “Yep, Still a Weenie…

  1. Jessie Thompson

    Dick, sometimes the reward is just getting out there. Bullcrap..If I go out I want to find something too. Finding the time to hunt is getting harder for me as family, work and the club etc.. has taken up most of my time. I try to buy the best detector money can buy. I just want some reward for my efforts. I know how to hunt. I know how to tweak the machine and yup I have all the latest coils and whoseymadoodles. I still say the manufacturers are saving the best machines for themselves lol. Seriously it depends on luck..but I swear the earths alignment, position of the moon and solar activity along with the weather play major parts on what is or is not found. I would say keep a lucky charm in your pocket but hey you could get struck by lightning if its metal or a pack of PETA members chasing your old ass if its a rabbits foot. Maybe I should just take the money I spent on the dang machine and put it towards coins on ebay. ugggghhhhh I just want a machine that will really show me what the frig is really gold and what is really aluminum…ahhhhh lol end of rant. I hear you brother loud and distorted.
    Jess

    • Jessie you and everyone else wants that gold/aluminum detector, but I am not sure it would be good for the pastime. Everyone and his brother would be buying a metal detector and no place would be off limits….

  2. Bob Buzzard

    That’s one of the reasons I like the Garrett AT Pro. I use the all metal and the only thing I have to touch is the sensitivity “pad”. Works really well for me. Simple = Better. Great picture btw.

  3. Linda Bennett

    I don’t always buy the newest machine – but do have quite a few in my arsenal (some bought and some won in hunts or raffles). I find myself going back to my first love – White’s 6000 di pro. Love that analog machine!!

  4. danhughes1

    Knobs, Dick. I love knobs too. That’s why my machine of choice is still the Fisher CZ-5. It has a pushpad for pinpointing, and a switch for saltwater, but mainly it has four beautiful knobs.

    I think it started with car radios. My ’62 Corvair had a radio with two knobs. One was on-off/volume, the other changed stations. There was a ring around one of them (forget which) that adjusted bass/treble. Nothing could be easier.

    I’ve had my current car for nearly three years, and I still can’t change the bass/treble without getting the manual out of the glove compartment. Push this pad, hold this one down for three seconds, scroll through the choices, do some other stuff, who knows.

    I hate it.

    Come to think of it, I loved everything else about that Corvair more than any car I’ve had since, too.

    Dick, we can’t deny it. We old guys have been passed by. And the youngsters will never understand how much better some things were back in our day.

    (And if that’s not fogeyism, I don’t know what is.)

    —Dan

    • Dan I can always count on you to remind me how old we are. Fogeyism?

      My first Fisher detector was a 553D back in the 80’s and it had a total of 7 knobs, and two of them were double stacked tuners. It weighed a ton but found a lot of coins.

      Maybe someday they will build ‘walkers’ with knobs so we can get together and do a little detecting…

Leave a Reply

