A Little Bit of This and That…

EVERYTHING YOU NEVER WANTED TO KNOW AND WERE AFRAID TO ASK…. 

It seems no matter where I travel in cyberspace anymore, the mainstream tekkie is running on all cylinders…buying the best equipment, traveling, spending hours in the field, showing off his finds on social media and basically living the good life. 

Me?  Well Big Tony recently reminded me that I lost my “giddy up” and while I hate to agree with him on anything, he is right.  My giddy up got up and went!

For the past couple of years I have been dealing with something called “peripheral neuropathy” and it’s kicking my butt big time.  While it started with numb toes and fingers, it has now spread up my legs and arms. Outwardly I appear fine (shut up Howland).  Inside? Numbness, pain and burning, all at the same time. Add in arthritis and I am one beat up old soul.  Having said all this, there are millions of people out there battling much more serious health problems than I and I consider myself lucky.

older

Okay, now that I’ve cried in my beer and played on your sympathy, let me get back to those tekkies I mentioned above.  They are all bastards and I hope they find nothing but bottlecaps for the next twenty years!    Okay, okay, all kidding aside…. I envy them, their youth, their expertise and their finds. They are in a league of their own and there’s no way I can compete with them. I’d like to think however that I’ve become a wiser tekkie in my old age, and I want to talk about something I feel strongly about…

CHOOSE YOUR WORDS WISELY…

This will sound strange coming from someone who spouts off like I do, but a lot of what I read and see on the internet nowadays concerns me.  While our pastime is fun and worthy of sharing, we all need to be more careful when doing it.  Show off your finds, your knowledge and your expertise, but be aware that there are anti-detecting people taking notes.  They are professional trolls who spend all their waking hours looking for something, anything, to beat us up with.  It’s unfortunate but they thrive on it, and in some instances get paid to do it. If you doubt that, spend a few hours here and here.  Both of these bloggers can and will take your words and turn them around to suit their needs, and yes they work the US sites as much as those in the UK.

So while you are babbling and bragging away on that forum or Facebook page, I highly recommend looking over your shoulder and keeping an eye not only the on the opposition, but on your fellow detectorists as well.  One is out to take away your pastime, and the other might be unwittingly helping him by saying all the wrong things.

Okay, where the hell did I put my walker…..?

 

DETECTING A CURE FOR JOLIE

Jolie

Jolie

Wanted to share again Chicago Ron’s effort to help his niece Jolie. By contributing you will be giving one of the best Christmas presents ever and who knows, you just might come away with a new detector in the process. Hope too that you will pass along Ron’s effort to your friends and relatives. It’s a chance to help a family facing a very difficult time, and a great way to show them just how much detectorists care about friends and family….

Please check the prize list….lots of new items have been added!

JOLIE’S FUND RAISER

______________________________________

ANY DETECTORISTS IN THE PENSACOLA AREA?

Received an email from Bill Puetz, enquiring about detecting the beaches in and around Pensacola, Florida. Bill, a Viet Nam vet now living in Norway, will be spending a couple of weeks in Pensacola over the holidays, and would love to do a little detecting.  If you live in the area and would be interested in sharing info or meeting up with Bill, please email him at  bill@puetz.com. I know he would be most appreciative.

Bill is the founder of VCoins, VAuctions, Ancients.info, and a founding board member of the Ancient Coin Collectors Guild.

______________________________________

A FAMILY THAT “HIDES” TOGETHER STAYS TOGETHER

It was inevitable! Fisher’s new F19 detector is now available in both camo & pink camo.

pink

“Thelma Lou, ain’t nobody going to see you now with that hot damn pink detector!”

______________________________________

AMAZING FINDS OF LATE

Been knocked over of late with all the amazing ‘old coin finds’ that are showing up out in cyberspace.  Apparently it’s not a matter of diminishing returns and just technology and expertise, or at least it would seem so….

______________________________________

Holiday Instant Savings

COUPLE INTERESTING READS…

The Thrill of the Hunt

Gettysburg Museum Selling It’s Artifacts

______________________________________

SHORT FLICKS

Australian Commercial

Relic

______________________________________

Many thanks to Bob Sickler for the new holiday banner above….

************

6 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

6 responses to “A Little Bit of This and That…

  1. del

    Dick , it could be a lot worse I suppose …
    Hey at least the numbness hasn’t reached your head yet , in all seriousness I wish you well over the holidays and that you can get a handle or beat the peripheral neuropathy with medications . I do enjoy reading a lot of your “ramblings” sir.

    Dan

  2. Thanks Dan. I do take medication and it helps some. Unfortunately there’s no way to repair the nerve endings. But as you said it could be worse.

    My wife would tell you it has gone to my head, but as you can see she is not exactly with it either….

  3. Big Tony From Bayonne

    Living in Texas and your “giddy up” is gone is a real big problem for sure….Texas cowboys invented “Giddy Up”!
    Some folks take Alpha Lipoic acid and vitamin B12 for that – it’s not a cure but it helps.

  4. Great points, Dick! Hope you have a Merry Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

