Putting It Into Words…

Bob Sickler, author of "The Detectorist"

Bob Sickler, author of “The Detectorist”

I could refer you to the comments section from June 29th (Task Force Call to Action) but I want to make it easy for you to read Bob Sickler’s response(s).  Bob as you already know is the author of The Detectorist, and a long time field tester for Western & Eastern Treasures.

Back in January of 2012, Bob wrote a letter to the Alabama and Kentucky legislators, regarding restrictive legislation and it was titled “Metal Detecting — More Than Just a Recreation”.  It was outstanding and if you are interested in reading it you can find it here.  Bob has once again knocked it out of the park with the following letter to the powers to be in New York city.  I hope you will copy it, file it away for future reference and next time you need help fighting city hall use it as a blueprint.

To Whom it May Concern,

I am of the proud American fraternity calling ourselves Detectorists. We use metal detectors to find coins, items lost from history, and we occasionally find and return valuable lost wedding, engagement, and school rings… But it goes way deeper than that. When we search city parks in particular, we who are responsible always locate, remove, and dispose of buried trash in our pursuits. This metallic trash often contains bottle caps, pull-tabs, tin foil, nails, rusted debris and just about anything deliberately careless people would discard in our NY parks. Worse yet, we find dangerous items such as broken glass, knives, firearms, hypodermic needles, drug paraphernalia, and live ammunition. Your own Police departments may have called upon us who volunteer to help solve criminal investigations. We do all this for the good of others without compensation. Did you know this?

Although I personally do not travel to search New York City parks, I am 62 years a native New Yorker and have enjoyed my “recreation” since 1968. I enjoy hunting parks in my hometown and others around the state. It has come to my attention and is upsetting to me that New York City parks are being closed to metal detecting without an explanation. I find it hard to believe that anyone in public office can discriminate against our recreation while allowing other uses of the park that cause harm and take little or no action against offenders.

Please know in all recreations not all participants will use the best judgment and thus can cause harm to the ground they frequent. It is the integrity and intelligence of the people who practice the recreation and not the recreation in general that can become the problem. I would ask you to rethink blanket and partial closure of NYC parks to metal detecting. There are far too many laws today that unnecessarily restrict people in their pursuit of recreation and health. I myself depend on the strenuous exercise metal detecting affords to fight diabetes.

I still have faith that there are some in government who are quick to know the benefits of a cleaner public park system for all voters to enjoy. Just think about the discarded needle removed from a city park by a metal detector user that could have given one innocent child AIDS. The permit system is an equitable and intelligent way to handle those who would practice any recreation on public property. Please do not close parks to those of us who want to do right by others and enjoy ourselves in the process.

Sincerely,

Robert H. Sickler
(author of “DETECTORIST, A How-to Guide to Better Metal Detecting”)

 

 He also wanted to share this with us all….

While I don’t travel to NYC to use my metal detector, this issue can spread like cancer to other areas in the state I do frequent, thus my reaction. Truth be known, I have a NYC reservoir in my own “back yard”. It “gives” our native water to those thirsty in NYC. It was placed there by eminent domain at the turn of the 20th century forcing my great-grandfather and his family (and many other local families) to reside elsewhere without choice.

In this water shed area there is a recreational area mandated to the people they displaced. It is there I have metal detected for 30+ years. Several years ago I had a NYC BWS Police officer walk up to me as I was swinging my detector. I smiled and thought another one of the officers was just inquiring as to what I found that day and would go back to work and leave me to enjoy my recreation. (There are no signs to this day that specifically restrict the use of a metal detector on these grounds.) Not this time, I was told to leave and not come back. I was dumfounded! I did a little research on the officer and found out he is also an avid metal detector user… Is this jealously or was he actually doing his job?

So to any of you who think a far away place “doesn’t concern me”, think again. Voice your concerns about metal detecting closure when you see it happen. We do not need an organization to unite us nationally.

***************************************** 

Thanks Bob  for sharing and for all you have done over the years to promote and keep our pastime alive!

__________________________________________________

THANKS TO SCOTT CLARK FOR THIS “BAD ASSED” INFORMATION

This was how Scott Clark described the following and I must agree.  I’ve only just started to play around with it but I love how easy it is to use. Thanks Scott…appreciate your passing this along.

USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer

 

JOHN WINTER IS BACK!!

Suspect many of you already know but John Winter’s blog is back up and running.  If by chance you aren’t familiar with John do yourself a favor and check out his blog HERE.  His latest post is a review of the White’s TRX pinpointer!  Welcome back John!

*****************

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Putting It Into Words…

  1. al bakanas

    I too use the strenuous exercise of metal detecting to battle with my diabetes,

  2. Bob Sickler

    Hi Al… Generally when I’m sitting in a chair in front of a computer earning a living (taking medication 3X daily), a 2-hour after-meal glucose test is generally in the 180-200 range. When I go metal detecting for a solid 8 hours, (during the day I could eat nearly anything I would like) I have an end of day test in the 90-120 range (near normal as without diabetes). Yes, there is no pill that can compete with the healthy exercise you get from our recreation of metal detecting. That’s why I get a little upset when I hear people trying to take it away from all of us. All any of us need do is react and write a letter or email and let our detractors know head-on just how we feel. Those who need voters to remain in office are least likely to want to receive criticism….Bob

Leave a Reply

