Task Force Call to Action…

Received the following from Avery Marder, president of the Task Force and hope you too will pass it along to your friends and club members.  Remember there’s strength in numbers.

PROTECT YOUR RIGHTS!

task2

If you own a metal detector or know anyone who does,your voice needs to be heard. Metal Detectorists in New York City are being discriminated against as a group. Activities and groups that might pose a much greater threat to park facilities are still allowed full access to NYC Parks, and we, the Metal Detectorists, are the ones being excluded from using many of OUR parks!

NYC Parks premise for banning the Metal Detectorists from “their” Parks is that we may pose a potential “hazard”, and that parks were removed due to the effects of Super Storm Sandy.  Well, that was almost 2 years ago, and these same parks have been reopened to all other activities EXCEPT Metal Detecting.

Recently the NYC permits were further limited by removing several parks from the permit. Also, certain days and time limits were placed on other parks.

We ask, why is it OK to hunt certain parks, and not others?

Are there days that are different from others?

If it’s OK to hunt one park any day, at any time, then why isn’t it OK in all parks.

There is no reason why we should not have full access to metal detect in approved areas on any day of the week – in any park, as we did for the prior 30 years.

***************************************

WHAT TO DO NEXT?

Call/email the people listed below and let them know the following:

– That you are very angry about the discrimination singling out Metal Detectorists in NYC Public Parks.

– You want Metal Detectorists to be able to enjoy their hobby in all NYC Parks, and that metal detecting is a lawful hobby that should not be restricted.

– Demand that NYC Department of Parks and Recreation allow the recreational use of metal detectors in all NYC parks.

Together we can ensure everyone’s right to enjoy their hobby on public use land.

Thank you, The Task Force for Metal Detecting Rights

NYC DP&R Commissioner Mitchell J. Silver
 http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildpr.html

Tel: (212) 360-1305/1307
The Arsenal
Central Park, 830 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10065

 

Mayor Bill de Blasio
 http://www.nyc.gov/html/static/pages/officeofthemayor/contact.shtml
City Hall
New York, NY 10007

 

 

ALL IS WELL WITH JOHN WINTER

winterlogo

Great News….chatted with John Winter via Skype on Friday, and if all goes well his blog will be up and running again in a couple of months.  He’s feeling good, looking good (for a Brit that is) and anxious to get back to blogging.

Unfortunately he still thinks he’s more handsome than me but what can I say?  Some things never change….

_________________________________________

GOOD STUFF FROM ANOTHER JOHN

I know I’ve mentioned John Hooker’s Past Times & Present Tensions quite a bit of late, but his series “In Praise of Metal Detecting” is good stuff. It’s a ten part series and well worth your time. Part 1 starts  HERE.

 

****************************

14 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

14 responses to “Task Force Call to Action…

  1. Bob K

    Sent an email to both. O by the way thanks for sharing the heat & the humidty you’re so wonderful.. LOL

  2. trademarkgraphix

    Thank you for your backing and help Dick

    Regards Avery

    • Avery, how about in addition to the letter campaign a petition effort like Roger Barbrick did in Massachusetts? That garnered over 1,000 signatures rather quickly. Just a suggestion.

  3. Dennis Morrison

    I think letters sent to the individuals above should not include anything that would endanger our hobby. We must ban together and encourage NY parks be open to all, that we are from other states and that we had planned on taking our vacation to NY city and part of the activities that we enjoy is our metal detecting hobby, but have heard that NY city now bans our hobby! We would hope that you reconsider your opposition to the Metal Detecting Hobby and that we may come to NY city and enjoy our vacation and our hobby. Just my thoughts on how some of the letters could be written.

    Sometimes it’s better to take a different approach and if we can get a letter campaign going, hundreds of letters will make a difference, who knows, maybe thousands of letters!

    I think we need to send letters to every councilman, not just the two mentioned!

    Another idea would be demonstrations on how to properly dig a target, this could be done as a club and other detector folks could be invited. Also a show of the junk taken out of parks, even if you don’t dig it up, pick it up! There’s a ton of things that can be done, it just takes a little finesse, LOL

  4. Sent my emails in to the Commissioner and Mayor and passed the info along to our club members! Thanks for passing the information along and good luck to the New Yorkers!!

  5. Big Tony from Bayonne

    It would be terrific if everyone who calls NYC folks to write up what happened here for a good reference.

    I called the commish office and spoke with Dorothy she said he doesn’t take calls and she will not give him a message. She suggested email – that way it will be routed to the correct borough person. I thanked her and sent an email. I also called the Mayor but alas he doesn’t take phone calls either. After explaining my reason of the call she transferred me to an young named Harold. Nice fellow and really wanted to assist – he also wanted to know exact park name and borough. I see a pattern here – divide and conquer each borough!

    Harold was polite and took a message to have someone call me back with an answer. I of course stated the two cases of Super Storm Sandy and give us our rights back to detect in all city parks except sensitive areas. Lastly I didn’t feel the need to email the Mayor at this time being that I was told that someone will call me back.

    Thanks Dick for allowing me to post on your site about this concern.

    • Tony, no need to thank me for posting here. I thank you….

      Your idea of keeping track of responses is good too. I would hope the Task Force will do this. Keep us posted on your situation and thanks for going the extra mile here.

  6. Terrific job, Avery! I also talked with FMDAC president Mark Schulser, who says they will also help spread the word. Dick is right: power is in numbers. Lets all get involved in writing the letters!

  7. wintersen

    Hi Dick … I’m back online in a fashion, but will have to start afresh!
    Thanks for your continuing support.
    http://www.johnwinter.net/jw/2014/06/johns-back/

  8. Bob Sickler

    Hi Dick… I sent my email letter to the Mayor, the parks commissioner’s contact interface only supports 150 words and I just can’t express what I have to say in so few words… at least to remain respectable! Here’s the long version of what I have to say about city parks closure in my own state!

    To Whom it May Concern,

    I am of the proud American fraternity calling ourselves Detectorists. We use metal detectors to find coins, items lost from history, and we occasionally find and return valuable lost wedding, engagement, and school rings… But it goes way deeper than that. When we search city parks in particular, we who are responsible always locate, remove, and dispose of buried trash in our pursuits. This metallic trash often contains bottle caps, pull-tabs, tin foil, nails, rusted debris and just about anything deliberately careless people would discard in our NY parks. Worse yet, we find dangerous items such as broken glass, knives, firearms, hypodermic needles, drug paraphernalia, and live ammunition. Your own Police departments may have called upon us who volunteer to help solve criminal investigations. We do all this for the good of others without compensation. Did you know this?

    Although I personally do not travel to search New York City parks, I am 62 years a native New Yorker and have enjoyed my “recreation” since 1968. I enjoy hunting parks in my hometown and others around the state. It has come to my attention and is upsetting to me that New York City parks are being closed to metal detecting without an explanation. I find it hard to believe that anyone in public office can discriminate against our recreation while allowing other uses of the park that cause harm and take little or no action against offenders.

    Please know in all recreations not all participants will use the best judgment and thus can cause harm to the ground they frequent. It is the integrity and intelligence of the people who practice the recreation and not the recreation in general that can become the problem. I would ask you to rethink blanket and partial closure of NYC parks to metal detecting. There are far too many laws today that unnecessarily restrict people in their pursuit of recreation and health. I myself depend on the strenuous exercise metal detecting affords to fight diabetes.

    I still have faith that there are some in government who are quick to know the benefits of a cleaner public park system for all voters to enjoy. Just think about the discarded needle removed from a city park by a metal detector user that could have given one innocent child AIDS. The permit system is an equitable and intelligent way to handle those who would practice any recreation on public property. Please do not close parks to those of us who want to do right by others and enjoy ourselves in the process.

    Sincerely,
    Robert H. Sickler
    (author of “DETECTORIST, A How-to Guide to Better Metal Detecting”)

    • Wow Bob, a terrific letter and response. I will be sure to refer people back to this in my next update. Your letter reminds me of why we need you to be involved again. You would make a great spokesperson for the pastime. Thanks again….

  9. Bob Sickler

    While I don’t travel to NYC to use my metal detector, this issue can spread like cancer to other areas in the state I do frequent, thus my reaction. Truth be known, I have a NYC reservoir in my own “back yard”. It “gives” our native water to those thirsty in NYC. It was placed there by eminent domain at the turn of the 20th century forcing my great-grandfather and his family (and many other local families) to reside elsewhere without choice. In this water shed area there is a recreational area mandated to the people they displaced. It is there I have metal detected for 30+ years. Several years ago I had a NYC BWS Police officer walk up to me as I was swinging my detector. I smiled and thought another one of the officers was just inquiring as to what I found that day and would go back to work and leave me to enjoy my recreation. (There are no signs to this day that specifically restrict the use of a metal detector on these grounds.) Not this time, I was told to leave and not come back. I was dumfounded! I did a little research on the officer and found out he is also an avid metal detector user… Is this jealously or was he actually doing his job? So to any of you who think a far away place “doesn’t concern me”, think again. Voice your concerns about metal detecting closure when you see it happen. We do not need an organization to unite us nationally.

Leave a Reply

