If I Had Listened to Others…

Over the years you detect a lot sites, and of course those you remember most are those that resulted in as lot of great finds.  I was reminded of one of my favorites when a friend forwarded this recent YouTube video.


While Bellewood park lasted only 14 years, the thousands of people who came there made it a detectorist’s dream and I spent many days hunting it, coming home with a lot of coins, most all from the mid to late 1800’s.

When I first heard of Bellewood Park I didn’t get all that excited. From what I was told it was not all that accessible any more and a portion of it was being quarried, but when I saw old photos and read a little more I knew I had to give it a shot.

As things turned out I knew a member of the family who owned the land, and was given permission to detect it.  It was indeed a bitch of a place to hunt but after quickly finding a dozen barber and seated coins I somehow didn’t mind…bug bites and scratches be damned!

Just a reminder not to ignore any site no matter what others say….I came close to passing on Bellewood Park.

 

_____________________________________________

AN APOLOGY

On the 5th of May I added a post titled Some Days It Just Doesn’t Pay, and I responded to a comment with “I need something old real bad. The Mercs and Roosie’s are not cutting it anymore….at least for me”….

This weekend I received an email from someone who took me to task for that statement, calling me a braggart and a few other names which I can’t print here (and you know there aren’t too many I can say that about).  His take was that a lot of detectorists would give anything to find a Mercury dime and what I said was an insult to them. Well, after thinking about it I must say he was right and I apologize. It was not a well thought out response and to those of you I may have offended I am sorry.

While it’s not an excuse, my age, my aches and pains tend to bring forth the ole oft used phrases like “I remember when” and “how it used to be” when instead I need to face the fact that the days of coming home with a dozen or more silver coins are not going to happen anymore….at least for me.  I also need to remember that coming home with one piece of silver is soooo much better than coming home without any!

My apologies again to anyone I may have offended.

_____________________________________________

THE STOUT HEAT INDEX SCALE

One of those "I'll think about it" days

One of those “I’ll think about it” days

I was also asked to share again “The Stout Heat Index Scale” a formula that I came up with a while back. It’s how I decide if and when I go detecting. It may not be appropriate for your neck of the woods but it works perfectly fine here in Texas.

THE STOUT HEAT INDEX SCALE

  • 80 degrees…..Yep!
  • 85 degrees…..Probably!
  • 90 degrees…..Will think about it!
  • 95 degrees…..Nope!
  • 100 degrees…Hell No!
  • 105 degrees…Are you shittin me?

 

************

 

19 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

19 responses to “If I Had Listened to Others…

  1. Robbie

    I’d drop your heat index down to 75-yep, 80-probably, 85-will think about it—————at 105- glad the AC is working great while I sip on this iced down cool drink.

  2. Love the Heat Index Scale–don’t have to worry about that much in New England though. We worry how soon until the weather changes…

  3. Bob K

    Dick
    As you have said research research is the key to a site. I will always hunt a site, with permission no matter if it is hard to get to or reported to have been hunted to death. I let the site tell me if it’s worth it. The fresh air, quiet and relaxing time is worth more than any thing else ( old old coins & a silver help too).
    Love the heat index scale very well put. Hope you have many good days to metal detect this year.

  4. John

    105 degrees, no problem. Just need to take out the waterproof detector and head to the lake or beach. If not close to either water sources a shady forest will do 🙂

  5. Lisa

    Shady forest. Hmmm. Ticks, mosquitoes, no breeze, humidity 100%, temps at 105. Yea, “Are you shitting me?” I had heat exhaustion hit me real quick 2 summers ago and I was pretty deep in the woods. It scared the crap out of me. And I’m supposed to know what I’m doing. Luckily i had people around me that recognized the symptoms and reacted quickly. We have already had temps hit 96 here so everyone be careful out there. Maybe we should do a blog on safety tips that have helped us all.

  6. “Maybe we should do a blog on safety tips that have helped us all”, says Lisa. Absolutely right. Qualified advice on First Aid etc, is a good move. Not only this, but if any of us were hunting and a friend collapsed with chest pains for instance, would we know what to do apart from rifling his finds bag and wallet?

    Always hunt near a pub and you’ll never get thirsty! I had a nasty turn a couple of summers back. I went into the pub and asked the barman if I was in the previous night. He said I had been, and that I’d spent a £20 note. Jeez, was I relieved…I thought I’d lost it!

    Happy Daze

    John H

  7. Bob Sickler

    Hmmm… First-aid while detecting… I had “One of Those Days” today!…. I was just starting out walking through the woods with my hunting partner and I was headed up a slight hill towards a large rock outcropping, detector in my left hand not turned on yet. There were a lot of leaves on the ground from the previous Fall and I unfortunately didn’t see a hefty downed limb lying under the leaves. I of course tripped and was moving very fast towards the rock outcropping. I put up my right hand to brace the inevitable, detector in the left hand also hit the rocks. The “ET” is built like a tank so nothing but a bump to the detector stand and a little paint missing.

    My right hand kept my face from hitting the rocks by only inches. There was a jagged point on the edge of one rock I hit and it went through my cotton glove and punctured my swinging and digging hand at the base of my thumb close to the “life line” (for you palm readers)! I keep a first-aid kit in my knapsack and never had to use it in all my years detecting until today. I cleaned the wound with an alcohol wipe, stopped the bleeding and used anti-bacterial cream. I had my detecting hand strapped with a Band-Aid and ready to go in minutes. Not one to call it a day over an upset, I trudged on in quite a bit of punctured and bruised pain. Advil, also in the knapsack, was remedy to that.

    It was a long beautiful warm day, the temp was around 84. Where I hunt we have to worry about ticks, so the t-shirt covered with a long-sleeve cotton flannel shirt, long jeans, heavy socks and boots added to the sweaty fun. Digging every target put the handle of my digger right where the puncture wound was, so the rest of the day I taught myself to dig left-handed… More fun! I did manage to come away from a site we pounded on previous hunts with a Colonial domed two-piece coin button, floral obverse, shank intact… Bad-ass Detectorist, age 62! 😉

Leave a Reply

