Read All About It!

IT SAYS RIGHT HERE!!

I’ve talked before about how I frequently pull a title from my collection of treasure hunting books and reread it. Almost always there’s something that I overlooked.  One sentence, one phrase or piece of information that will elicit an “aha” moment and what brought this to mind was a recent post by Stan Shoemaker on the Detecting History Facebook page. 

Stan was somewhat frustrated with the lack of depth he was getting from his White’s V3i and decided to reread the owners manual and advanced user’s guide.  By doing this he picked up on a few things that might indeed help increase depth his next time out.

Over the past forty years I used a great many makes and models and always prided myself on knowing each and every feature or function they offered.  That’s no longer true…at least for me.  My ole brain is not what it used to be and I now want to dig as opposed to think.  However like Stan I’ve decided to get out my MXT Pro manual and read it again.  I have no doubt I too will be the better for it.

BrookBook

On a similar note I was looking through my TH’ing books the other night and decided to pull down Ty Brook’s “Inside Treasure Hunting”…a book published in 1999 and one of my favorites.  I placed it on the bedside table for a few nights and it read like a ‘new’ book.  I remember congratulating Ty after he sent me a copy but had forgotten just “how good” it was.

Ty, if you are not familiar with him, writes the “Tech Talk” column for Western & Eastern Treasures and he has the uncanny ability to explain a detector’s inner workings so that anyone and everyone understands…NOT an easy task!  He does the same thing in his book but covers so much more.  Under the “Don’t Buy the Wrong Detector” chapter Ty talks about advertising and hits the nail on the head with:

“Choice of the pros!” What pro’s? Every major brand has loyal and successful users and those people who do well with one unit would (with ample experience) probably do about as well with most others. Furthermore, the concept of a professional treasure hunter is largely a myth. In fact, most or all turn out to be weekend hobbyists, writers, metal detector dealers, jacks of various trades or retirees whose main or only source of income is from something other than the discovery of lost or hidden valuables”. 

So do yourself a favor and read a little more.  Get that owner’s manual out and make sure you understand it (or at least think you do).  Can’t hurt, trust me and for the record Ty did not ask me to tout his book here…it’s just a damn good read and very well written. Should you be interested you purchasing it you can write to Ty at: 1324 Union Academy Road, Ramer, Alabama 36069 or you can email him at kenoty@bellsouth.net.

______________________________________________

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO THE BUBBA & HIS DECIDEDLY BETTER HALF!

John & Maggs

John Howland sent me an update for the Malamute Saloon and also offered the following….

“As of Friday 1st May, me and my beloved are heading to Cornwall for a few days holiday…and if she doesn’t want to go I’ll take Maggs!  Hhahaha!  Seriously, me and She-Who-Must-be-Obeyed are celebrating 25-yrs dreaded bliss. Lots of bass fishing and treasure hunting loom large.”

For those of you who don’t know Maggs is his lovely wife Margaret, and how she has put up with this sod for twenty five years is beyond me.  Anyway John and Margaret Happy Anniversary and enjoy your trip.  Oh and Margaret as I am sure you already know, don’t expect any expensive or appropriate gift!  Look instead for a fly rod, socket wrench set or bottle of Bourbon…no cheaper SOB ever lived!

Hope you will read the Bubba’s latest “The Love That Dares to Speak It’s Name” by clicking on the Malamute Saloon link above and scrolling down to today’s date.

***********************

2 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

2 responses to “Read All About It!

  1. I know what you mean when you say ‘knowing each and every feature or function they offered’. My old pea brain has a difficult time retaining instructions and with today’s detectors, there are plenty of these instructions. I do not play video games any more. I used to play games like ‘Pong’ which was straight forward, but today’s games must be played with a controller that is held with both hands and has something like 60 buttons and knobs you must use, in the proper manner and sequence. My pea brain can not think near fast enough to play these games. I certainly hope that metal detectors do not get much more complicated! I would be forced to give up detecting!

Leave a Reply

