They Love Us in Arkiedom!

ArkiefailThe recent postings here about the archaeological hoarding in Northern Ireland seemed to touch a nerve, and I want to thank John Howland for bringing them to the forefront.  Extremely irritating and hypocrisy at it’s finest!

So are John and I anti-archaeology?  For the most part yes, but we are willing to listen to the other side (with two exceptions of course) and it better be in a conciliatory tone. Condescending attitudes, lies and doubletalk won’t cut it anymore.

John and I first met back in the early 80’s and it was the result of both of us having to deal with individuals & organizations that wanted to put our pastime out of business, he with the NCMD in the UK and I with the FMDAC here in the states.  It’s now 30 years later and we’re still working at it, albeit in print and online.  If you are interested in why I feel the way I do read my September blog post titled Archaeologists…My Take.

Yep, we even dress alike....San Antonio, Texas, circa 1991

Yep, we even dress alike….San Antonio, Texas, circa 1991 (You laugh and we will hunt you down, kick your ass and send your name and email address to Warsaw)

Have things changed with regards to us versus them?  Somewhat, thanks to Lisa MacIntytre, but not near enough for me to say I am optimistic.  Lisa has at least given me hope that recent and forthcoming archaelogical graduates might be more willing to reach across the aisle. I hope so….unfortunately I probably won’t be around to see it happen.

Lisa Hume MacIntyre

Lisa Hume MacIntyre

______________________________________________

I found the following articles pertinent and worthy of passing on. Enjoy…

More Laws, Less Treasure

Archaeological Finds Cost Taxpayers

Artifacts Find a Home?

Note the statement in the last article….”It does not accept items collected from private land, nor will it take collections that don’t have good archaeological field records” …i.e., no detectorists!

___________________________________________

THE STORY OF THE SS GAIRSOPPA

SS Gairpossa

SS Gairsoppa

John has been on a tear of late doing what he does best….exposing the hypocrisy within the opposing camp, but this time  he shares the story of the SS Gairsoppa and the Odyssey Marine Exploration Group, who was not only responsible for recovering it’s treasure but for also sharing a percentage of it with the Royal Mint in the UK.  To read more click on the Malamute Saloon link above and scroll down to today’s date!

Thanks Bubba…

___________________________________________

Looking forward to a little hoiking this weekend….

Hoiking

************

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

8 responses to “They Love Us in Arkiedom!

  1. supernova1c

    I Like the Hoiking sign 😀

  2. There’s something wrong with your feed in that my blog and Janners blog amongst others is still showing your last post as the google earth one 3 weeks ago 🙂

  3. no worries, might be a .blogger thing but oddly other wordpress blog links aren’t doing it 🙂

    • Bloke when I click on my link on ‘your’ page it takes me to the latest post. Not sure why the “label” still shows the Google Earth item. Do me a favor now and in the future email me about things like this…no one reading my blog really cares about stuff like this.

Leave a Reply

