An Antiquity Scheme for the US?

John Howland offers up a few ideas on how something like the PAS might work here in the states.  I would love it of course, but have pretty much given  up hope of seeing something like this in my lifetime.  It would take a lot of money, effort and interest, all missing ingredients here in the states. I hope you will take  the time to read John’s thoughts.  Perhaps down the road someone will take up the mantle and make it happen.

Please take the time to read John’s ideas on this subject by clicking on the Malamute Saloon link above and scrolling down to today’s date!
______________________________________________________________

A WARSAW WALLY UPDATE FROM JOHN

Wednesday, 29 January 2014; From Paul Barford’s Blog 

What he’d have the World Believe: (complete with Barfordese spelling)

Metal Detecting Looter Caught in Calabria.

Police on Tuesday arrested a 34-year-old man as he was trying to abscond with artifacts from Capo Colonna Archaeological Park near Crotone….

Read more at: The Achaeology News Network, 29th January 2014.

Posted by  Paul Barford   at  12:57     No comments:   Links to this post

………………………………………………..

What ACTUALLY Happened:-

The Archaeology News Network reported the facts thus:

The would-be robber, who was identified by the initials I.F., was caught by a metal detector [my highlights] as he attempted to leave the 30,000-square-meter-park on a promontory overlooking the Tarentine Gulf with his loot.

………………………………………………..

The factual ineptitude of Barford’s Blog is only surpassed by his unique spelling; further proof, if further proof were needed, that his lame-brained Blog can only pump out 24-carat twaddle!

This type of calculated deceit apparently supported by the Council for British Archaeology because of their hand-in-blouse, heavy petting sessions with the Warsaw Warbler, somewhat negates their wild claims – and his –  that metal detectorists are cavalier with their finds.

______________________________________________________

THANK YOU BUT JUST GIVE ME EASY…

One of my enjoyments is reading before going to bed, but the last book I bought, which shall remain nameless, was a dud.  Sounded like everything I was interested in, and would up being all  those things I hate.  Not only that, it was expensive.  Anyway I needed something to stare at last night so I grabbed a few old detecting books off the shelf and headed to bed, figuring anything would be better than what I was “trying” to read.   It was a good move.

I don’t know what it is. It could be senility or just a longing for the good ole days but these dog eared paperbacks were, and still are, interesting, informative and a helluva lot of fun  to read, and you know what I didn’t have to decipher, tax the brain or scratch my head.   Another plus?  They were actually “written by the author”…can you imagine that?  I know, they’re not as glamorous as those on the market today. No color photographs, glossy cover or scholarly diagrams, just down-to-earth how-to stuff.

Oldies but goodies...

Oldies but goodies…

Interestingly enough I woke up today and found this referenced 2009 article on a detecting Facebook page.  It’s from the Ohio Metal Detecting website, one of my favorites. I offer it here only because it’s night and day (no pun intended) from my reading last night. It’s a well written and detailed article, full of useful information for today’s tekkie…I guess.  For me, I will stick with the oldies but goodies.

I’ll never understand how you all can find the time to research when spending so much of it learning, analyzing and deciphering today’s equipment, not to mention honing your film  making techniques?  And yes, I know I am from the old school and out of touch, but you know what?  You just wait!

rocket2

_____________________________________________________________

THE “STEP UP AND CLEAN UP” EFFORT

White's Coinmaster

White’s Coinmaster

Let me remind you again about this challenge.  Your club could win a Coinmaster detector, compliments of White’s Electronics.    All you have to do is help out your local community, clean up the environment and promote your club in the process. How? Simply by adopting a park or a stretch of highway and/or shoreline to   clean up on a regular basis.

The guidelines….

Send a newspaper clipping or email a link to a television blurb about your club’s “Step Up and Clean Up” program. It must tell about or show your club actually at work,   cleaning up your adopted area, and it must be dated after January 1, 2014. Send it to….

“Step Up and Clean Up”, White’s Electronics, Inc., 1011 Pleasant Valley Road,   Sweet Home, Oregon 97386.

************

21 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

21 responses to “An Antiquity Scheme for the US?

  1. bill from lachine

    John,
    Well thought out post and thanks for sharing your views and opinions. Always refreshing mate.

    Regards + HH

    Bill

  2. Re: …UPDATE FROM JOHN”. Maybe before you publish his offensively worded twaddle, you would like to check out the original article before shouting your mouth off. That way you don’t both end up looking stupid.

    ‘Crotone, scavava nell’area di Capo Colonna Arrestato giovane e recuperati molti reperti’ Il Quotidiano della Calabria 28th January 2014

    Can you manage that?

    Let’s talk about a US PAS. How about calling it a “National Isolated Finds Program” (NIFP)?

    • “Let’s talk about a US PAS. How about calling it a “National Isolated Finds Program” (NIFP)?”

      And let me save you the time. Here…just copy and paste:

      TAKE A GOOD LOOK at this behaviour, for these are precisely the sort of people the PAS wants to grab more and more millions of public quid to make into the “partners” of the British Museum, archaeological heritage professionals and to whom they want us all to entrust the exploitation of the archaeological record. Take a good look and decide what you think about that as a “policy”.

      Can you manage that?

    • bill from lachine

      Folks,

      Why is it that whenever I need my silver bullets they go missing….lol.

      Regards + HH

      Bill

  3. Barford reported and quoted from an archaeological source which, as it turned out, got its facts wrong. He, in his usual headlong rush to smear detectorists, twisted the story further, then, realising his error, modified his original blog to extricate himself from the manure. Another hilarious gaffe from ‘The Master’… though not quite up to the level of his widely ridiculed, unscientific, wholly made-up database known as the AEC.

    Look and learn Barford. Before any US-Style PAS discussions happen, and these won’t be with you that’s for sure. I’d suggest judging from the drubbing you regularly receive at the hands of Dick Stout, Peter Tompa, Wayne Sayles, and Arthur Houghton, you take a few weeks off and learn an effective technique. Neither do I debate with people who, like you, are not only overly coy about their antecedents, or, who see themselves as somehow influential with a self-inflated sense of importance, and certainly not with a specimen like you who refers to detectorists as ‘slack-jaws’. Pity them, yes!

    In the meantime, you’d do well to grow up, and stop behaving like a spoilt brat and come to terms with who you really are in the scheme of things.

    aż znów się spotkamy, nadziewane dostać
    .

  4. Lisa MacIntyre

    John,
    First and foremost, thanks for the shout-out and the vote of confidence. I say that in all sincerity.
    It really is not complicated. We (Arkies) will never, ever, ever, be able to outrun the bulldozers (and the political wheel that pushes them along for the betterment of jobs, jobs, jobs!), nor will we ever, ever, have the funding or resources to scour every inch of even a small county to turn up every single piece of history left in the dirt. Neither will detectorists, gardeners, road crews, etc.. So why on earth can academia not set aside their ego, lust, whatever, and look for a solution that at the very least documents a small portion of the lost history? Seriously, who gives a rats behind who actually has possession of the artifact as long as it is recorded and documented for, not only everyone to enjoy, but to aid in further theoretical research, history, and understanding. I have been accused of being a rouge archaeologists, disgracing my profession, and even selling out. Really? Because my reasoning for viable, rational solutions overruns my ego? Call me whatever you want, the bigger picture here is not one entity can have it all.

  5. I couldn’t agree with you more. It’s interesting that you’ve been accused of ‘selling out’ by some in your calling. It says more about them than you. Leave ’em behind in the dirt and let’s get on with consolidating what there is out there and leave the Luddites. Who dares, wins!
    More importantly, Dick tells me good news about Ken. Superb!

  6. Lisa MacIntyre

    Thank you, John. And not to get off the subject, but, to shout it from the roof tops, my son has been declared cancer free!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No better words were spoken to me today. Let’s hope he stays that way!

    • Lisa, Ken and family, you all deserve to celebrate. A great way to start off the new year. Hope you will have one or two for me, and as for John, you can never have too many.

  7. John, Lisa and Bill….thank you.

    I really thought John’s PAS idea would garner a few more responses but I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. I remember when….

  8. Yo Ricardo!
    Never mind the cowans, let’s get on and put detecting on a proper and legal footing in the US, Canada to start with. There’s some real talent out there! They just need marshalling.

  9. John, I am not the one to marshal anyone. I really like the idea of a PAS for the States, but I am not sure anyone else does. The fighting spirit that you and I remember is a thing of the past, and please don’t anyone tell me otherwise.

  10. bill from lachine

    Dick,
    There was a thread on another site that I participated in that was proposing something along the same lines in the US a few years back.

    Because of the patchwork of state and federal laws I strongly suggested that they slow down and concentrate on one state only and if they could get it past legislation…..they could use it as a template going forward.

    To the best of my knowledge it fizzled out unfortunately.

    Regards + HH

    Bill

  11. bill from lachine

    Dick,

    You shouldn’t be to hard on your buddy Paul….heck I’ll even dedicate a song to him…..lol….

    Regards + HH

    Bill

    • Bill, have a feeling Wally isn’t a Stones fan….they’re from the UK. You need to find a Polish group I am afraid.

    • Bill,
      I reckon the Stones would gel with Wally with the following tracks:
      1 (I can’t get no) Satisfaction
      2 As Tears Go By
      3 Street Fighting Man …(He will be if the Polish ‘slack-jaws’ get hold of him!)
      4 You Can’t Always Get What You Want
      5 Shattered (If the UK ‘slack-jaws’ get hold of him)
      Hahahahahahahaah!

      Regards

      UK Thugwit, hahahahah!

  12. Hey!

    If you think double cream is thick….try reading Barford’s blog! Hahahah!

  13. What’s this noo ‘science’ that’s just come to light on the Barford blog: Arechaeology?

Leave a Reply

