Let’s See Where 2014 Leads….

Decided to keep on with the blog & website for the time being and see how things go in the days ahead.  I will share whatever is on my mind, detecting related or not and you can decide whether it’s interesting, boring, depressing or utter bullshit. Whatever your take I understand….

The past few days I’ve been doing a lot of reading, too much eating and trying hard to keep warm.  This current cold spell is affecting a lot of folks, and I especially feel for my friends in the Northeast.  As much as I dislike where I am living now I do not miss digging snow or dealing with frostbite.  Hang in there my Yankee friends!

On another note it seems the new year has barely begun and we are bombarded with even more detecting forums, blogs, FB pages, broadcasts and vanity movies.  I’m peeing my pants wondering what new “dig this” or “dig that” reality show is forthcoming on the telly…

Okay, since I’ve probably pissed off a few of you I will now get off my soapbox and wish you all a great 2014.

Get your detector, your pinpointer, your headphones, your pouch, your shovel, your digger, your kneepads, your camo, your camera, your GPS, your smart phone, your script and your ass out in the field.  Good hunting….

begging

Cartoon courtesy of Dave Denison..

_____________________________________________________________

HOWLAND’S TAKE ON 2014

black_pirate_flagUnlike me John Howland didn’t take a step back to think things over. It’s always forward and upward, damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead.   Likewise he won’t admit it but he too is a curmudgeon and a soused one at that.  Having said that I am happy to have him aboard….

Please take a minute or two to read his take on 2013 by clicking on the Malamute Saloon link above and scrolling down to today’s date!  As usual he takes no prisoners!

_____________________________________________________________

THE “STEP UP AND CLEAN UP” EFFORT

Let me remind you again about this challenge.  Your club could win a Coinmaster detector, compliments of White’s Electronics.    All you have to do is help out your local community, clean up the environment and promote your club in the process. How? Simply by adopting a park or a stretch of highway and/or shoreline to   clean up on a regular basis.

White's Coinmaster

White’s Coinmaster

The guidelines….Send a newspaper clipping or email a link to a television blurb about your club’s “Step Up and Clean Up” program. It must tell about or show your club actually at work,   cleaning up your adopted area, and it must be dated after January 1, 2014. Send it to….

“Step Up and Clean Up”, White’s Electronics, Inc., 1011 Pleasant Valley Road,   Sweet Home, Oregon 97386.

___________________________________________________

“It wasn’t until late in life that I discovered how easy it is to say “I don’t know.”  ~ W. Somerset Maugham

************

19 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

19 responses to “Let’s See Where 2014 Leads….

  1. Gary K

    There is definitely a lot of detecting activity out there. I’m sure a lot of it has to do with the TV shows that are on these days. On Facebook in particular there is a whole bunch of different groups. Once I joined one of them Facebook is always suggesting many more that I may want to be part of.

    Have you ever talked about sites you wish you had detected but didn’t, and now they are no longer in existence because of development or some sort other reason? Over the years I had access to detect many places but didn’t because I was busy elsewhere, and now the chance of me getting access is slim to none.

    You probably have covered this subject in one of your books or many articles, but if you haven’t I would be interested in hearing any shoulda coulda woulda stories.

    • Gary, have had my share of loss opportunities for the same reason. Either got busy or simply thought it would be there when I got around to it. Haven’t written any articles that I can remember about the subject but will give it some thought. Happy New Year…

  2. bill from lachine

    Dick,

    Keep them coming…..I for one enjoy your ramblings and besides we need someone around to keep John Howland out of trouble.

    Regards + HH

    Bill

  3. Dick, it just wouldn’t be right not to have your posts that I look forward to. You are a veteran of the hobby who can teach many!

  4. DonM

    I hope that you keep this blog going – nothing wrong with telling it like it is even though it may irk some people. That old saying – “the future ain’t what it used to be” as dumb as it may sound certainly applies to this hobby.
    There was a time when we could go out and almost be guaranteed to find 6 or 7 silvers at least but I am afraid those days are long gone….now the challenge is find just one even though you may have one the latest and greatest detectors.

    • Don, things most definitely “aint what they used to be” including yours truly. Would be nice if we could turn back the clock, but that unfortunately is not an option so I guess I will just continue to irk a few tekkies here and there. Thanks for the encouragement and don’t be a stranger.

  5. If anyone hears odd noises over the coming weeks, chances are it’ll be Wally Barford scraping the barrel for one of his (usual) muck-raking, fact-free, forays. This time he’s asking Brit arkies to supply him with finds details from excavations, so as to compare them with detector-found artefacts particularly in East Anglia. Obviously, last year’s lecture in Ipswich fell flat on its arse and needs to bolster the flop with yet more ‘scientific evidence.’ Ho ho!
    I would have thought he would have used data from his Artefact Erosion Counter — or has it finally dawned, even on him, that unlike the fact-filled PAS Database, his AEC really is complete rubbish?
    Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha!!!!

  6. They’re also supposed to write-up their excavation reports ASAP…but early reports are rarer than rocking-horse shit (some never even see the light of day).
    Even Wally Barford, by his own admission, is being chased-up by his publishers for completion.

    Oh, let he who is without sin, cast the first stone.

  7. Big Tony from Bayonne

    Hey Dick, great post as usual. This coming Sunday I am going to a beach in South Jersey and they say it will be 50 degrees. A heat wave compared to the 6 degrees today. I want to start this new year off right so getting out is a great start to this lazy ass. Too bad I don’t have what John in Edmomton has – motivation! He goes detecting in the snow and finds dollar coins and other stuff even in bad weather. To him if it is above zero it is a good day.

    • Good luck Tony. Never found the Jersey beach too friendly during the winter. Nothing to do with the cold, just the way it was for me. Let me know how you fare…

  8. supernova1c

    Hello Dick my friend. Really glad you’ve decided to continue with your blog, your a treasure on the net!
    Good luck for 2014 and I’ll speak soon.
    Regards James 🙂

  9. James, coming from you I appreciate that very much…Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

