Housebound and Hating It…

“This time we were at another large field, across the road from our morning hunt site. I was told that the property contained the earliest courthouse in the county, though it became obvious that the house currently standing on the site is only from the turn of the century.  A small building standing on the property, though, was the original sheriff’s office.  The fields here yielded some beautiful buttons, early date wheat pennies, a couple of Indian heads, a few silver dimes and several large American pennies.  We hunted until approximately 4:00 when we decided to call it a day and a great day it was. I couldn’t have asked for a better day or a better group of hunters and I can’t wait until we get out there and do it all again”.

The above is from the December newsletter of the Shore Seekers Artifact & Recovery Club, Salisbury, Maryland, and did little to help my “in house” confinement. The ice is still here big time!  I can’t get into my car, I am getting tired of staring at the walls, and we pretty much lost most, if not all,  of our large oak tree in front of the house.

A big loss and a costly cleanup...

A big loss and a costly cleanup…

Reading Bill Draper’s description of the club’s latest outing reinforced my belief that if I were back home I wouldn’t be feeling so low.  Yes I would still be 72 years old, but I would be in rural Hunterdon county, New Jersey, detecting cellar holes, picnic groves, old schools, turn of the century homesites, and feeling pretty damn good about the odds of my next signal, my next find..

Hunterdon County will always be home.

Hunterdon County will always be home.

_________________________________

Anyway I am still alive and kicking (well somewhat) and will send you to John Winter’s great blog.  His latest post is a good read and should inspire a lot of newcomers.  It’s also a reminder that what we do is not rocket science .  Stay warm and have one for me.

David’s Sensational Detecting Finds

____________________________________

Wally6

***********************

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Housebound and Hating It…

  1. It is sad what Mother Nature does to her beautiful trees. Hopefully there was no other damage from the limbs. Back here in PA we are having rain and ice storms, which I try to send over to Jersey for my Mid-Atlantic friends as quick as possible. Harry N.

    • Yep. When I think of the 25 years that tree has been growing and what it cost to keep it shaped, etc.. it breaks my heart. Nice of you to send all that ice to my Jersey friends. You do know they will get even with you don’t you?

  2. Roy Rutledge

    But if you were still in New Jersey it would be knee deep in snow and too cold to hunt. Just remember where ever you go, There you are.

  3. Hallelujah! Got my car going and drove two blocks to the grocery store…felt like a vacation (well, sort of..).

  4. RoyR

    We are up to 34 degrees here in Waco, TX. Just went out to eat lunch no problems. Roads are clear now.
    Ready for some 80 degree weather.
    RoyR

Leave a Reply

