Dig Fellas Redux…

Last night I decided to sit myself down and watch a the baseball playoff game (Cardinals vs. Pirates).  I was not overly excited simply because I had no dog in the hunt.  I am a die hard Yankee fan going back to the late 40’s.  Anyway, after sitting down I realized it was also the same time for the “Dig Fellas” show on the Travel Channel, and decided to see what was going on with Bill and HOWward.

Bill Ladd and Howard Hewitt

Bill Ladd and Howard Hewitt

If you read my take on this show (see September 5th & 12th) all I can say is “ditto” again.  This series is so predictable it’s annoying.  One interesting thing happened  however last night… Bill Ladd starts off the show with his new piece of equipment, and opens this generic brown box.  Guess what was in it?  Hmmm, yep, the new Garrett ATX “mine sweeper”.  Apparently Garrett has the inside track on all the TV shows now, and I have to give them credit for the superb marketing job.

I decided to watch the show, and in 30 minutes I was given a brief synopsis of where the pair was heading, the history of the site, the various layouts, the actual hunting (all five minutes of it), the over done, heavy drama (leading only to the commercial) and the surprise, surprise “expert evaluation” of the finds along with estimated values.  That folks is “Dig Fellas” and  all the other tekkie shows on TV.

Please let me say again… I do not dislike Bill Ladd or Howard Hewitt. Quite the contrary. The are both expert detectorists and their pedigree precedes them.  They are very knowledgeable about the pastime and their reputations are impeccable.  I just wish there were some way for their talents to shine more, and that apparently will never happen until the producers start listening to those who do this day in and day out.

Stop trying to cram hours of information into 30 minutes.   Share more about the site in question, not only the history, but the research that leads up to the  hunt itself.  Next maybe tell something about “metal detectors”. You know those things that are really the reason for the show (or are they?)

Next, please, no more orgasms over every item dug up….it’s just bad acting and annoying as hell.  Stop too with the “instant identification” of what is found.  Last night they pulled out what looked like a small, mucky,  beat up cylindrical piece with glass on one end, and it was immediately labeled a spyglass and surely used in the Civil War battle site they were hunting.  Why not show the items that are found at the end of the show, AFTER they are cleaned, THEN tell a little more about what the hell they are and please, no exaggerated values!

Do the producers of these show ever ask for input from the manufacturers or from the cast?  My guess is that they spend most of their time trying to find some “historical” or “quirky” site to feature and then a colorful appraiser to give over inflated prices at the end.  Anything in-between is secondary.  I know I sound like sour grapes and if so, go ahead and shoot me down.  I really, really WANT to like these shows, trust me. It’s just hard.

__________________________________

WALLY FESSES UP

Well, after a little prodding, or should I say direct questioning about his credentials, Warsaw Wally finally changed his bio…it now reads:

“Bearded cat lover living and working in Warsaw Poland. Since the early 1990s a primary interest has been research on artefact hunting and collecting and the market in portable antiquities in the international context and their effect on the archaeological record”.

Well, now we at least know he does love “something” although I now worry about any felines who live with him… Let me also suggest another change Wally.  Why not be totally honest and add this:

bullshit8

__________________________________

NOTE TO MANUFACTURERS….

I am still waiting for that detector with one knob and a screen that offers “yep” and “nope”

************

16 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

16 responses to “Dig Fellas Redux…

  1. I like the show, and the guys. 🙂 I’ve come to realize that reality tv is not reality, and just take it at face value. Just like the show “Tickle” I love it, even though I know that it is complete BS and completely scripted, bad acting and all!!! For me, it’s entertainment from the goings on in the world. Basically just an escape from reality. The same is for Dig Fellas. Like you, I don’t dislike the guys and can respect them as detectorists. I agree, some of the acting is a turn off, but hey, we all like to be silly sometimes. Keep up the great work, I love you articles and blog!!!

    • Rob, I know and I feel guilty trying to take them seriously, but I sat there last night watching the show and felt somewhat embarrassed. JMO…

      May sound like a mutual admiration society but your blog is damn good too. Thanks.

  2. Yep, that sign would look even better in flashing lights over one of our cat loving pal’s more famous ‘porky pies’ …the heavily discredited, Artefact Erosion Counter. And talking of ‘porky pies’, that sign wouldn’t go amiss either as the strapline to Heritage Action’s pisspoor, Heritage Journal blog, overseen by the illustrious Mercian, Master Baker ( I think I heard it right from one who knows him),….. Heritage Harry!

  3. Denny Morrison

    Good reply Scott, I know both these guys and most of the time, when I saw them in the field, they acted just like they do on the show. I always liked hunting with them, but wow, how can you get excited over a Square nail and hoop and holler. I can’t wait to jump into a tree when I find my first Plate, Oh, I’m sorry that’s they other detecting program, LOL!!
    Denny

  4. Steve

    I enjoy the show, if for no other reason that I like the finds, but I’ll be the first to tell you when I find something, I keep it quiet. I’ve lost more than a few choice areas and finds by being too vocal.

    • Steve, understand that all too well… I was in the same boat years ago when I found an old picnic grove. I was showing off my finds and let slip the area where I found them. Three days later the farmer who had given me permission would not let me hunt anymore because he caught SIX unfamiliar faces on his land. One was the guy I had shown the finds too. Needless to say we were not friends after that.

      It was a “learning” moment for me…

  5. Why does Wally live in Poland? Is he Polish?
    As for the show, I am afraid there aren’t enough of us fans of detecting to make a show that will appeal to us. The show I am sure, is made for the uninformed masses which, I am afraid to say, prefer to remain uninformed. There, thus there will never be a metal detecting show that we will like or approve of simply because the show must be seen by the many and not just by the few.

    • Well Wally lives in Warsaw because no other country will have him. Just that simple…he’s a man without a country as well as a man without a friend.

      You are probably right about the shows, but I still think the masses would enjoy a well done, well thought out program. That cannot however happen in 30 minutes. JMO.

  6. Dick – I noticed that Barford posted your 100% bullshit graphic and a couple of paragraphs later quoted a phrase often quoted by the pigs in George Orwell’s Animal Farm: “Four legs good. Two legs bad.” I can’t be sure of the point he is trying to make because I am prone to the affliction he calls, “tekkie-thought”, but the juxtaposition of the graphic and his quote confuses me.

    Ooops! He’s bound to get 1000 words of insulting and abusive language out of the above admission!

    Which brings me to the real point of my comment. I happen to be re-reading 1984 at the moment and have just read a description of one of the characters … and I quote:

    “Goldstein was hated and despised by everybody, although every day, and a thousand times a day, on platforms, on the telescreen, in newspapers, in books, his theories were refuted, smashed, ridiculed, held up to the general gaze for the pitiful rubbish that they were – in spite of all this, his influence never seem to grow less. Always there were fresh dupes waiting too be seduced by him.”

    Now, who did that description remind me of … ? 🙂

    • I guess a lot of us are afflicted with “tekkie thought”. Trying to decipher any of his long winded, zillion word posts is a very painstaking task, never worthy of a second try either. And no, I have clue what he was talking about here but I am sure he will clarify this disjointed and confusing insult.

      As for the Goldstein description….. Have no idea who you are thinking of?

  7. He’s now a bearded SCRABBLE LOVER living and working in Poland. Where does he find the time? The cat is out of favour.

    I reckon he must play with himself!

Leave a Reply

