What’s In a Name?

It’s an age old dilemma…who are we and what should we call ourselves?  More importantly, how do we want to be perceived? Certainly it’s more macho to be a “treasure hunter” because the majority of people haven’t a clue what the word “detectorist” means.  If however you are a “treasure hunter” you become synonymous with Indiana Jones, and it can’t get much cooler than that….

Indiana3

Hey,  I’d love to be Indiana Jones. Swashbuckling, devil-may-care, daring, bold, reckless, courageous and best of all, seducer of all things feminine….. Yeah, that’s the ticket…that’s who I want to be, no doubt about it.

Unfortunately while I am somewhat devil-may-care (as in I don’t give a crap about much), I’m sure not swashbuckling (that would involve getting off my ass and moving around), daring (that means getting out in the hot weather), bold (that usually results in getting slapped in the face), reckless (I have nothing to get reckless with), courageous (my wife beats me) and I sure as hell haven’t seduced anything feminine in many years, not even a mosquito.

Then of course we have “relic hunter“, “artifact hunter” & “prospector”…good labels, except if you are an artifact hunter you are a “hoiker” who destroys the entire history of the world and becomes a millionaire in the process (Well at least according to some). Maybe we could simply become “metal detector enthusiasts” or “metal detector users“, or better yet, “history hunters“. Hmm, I kind of like that….

I am guessing that no matter what we decide to call ourselves there will always be those out there looking to discredit us, and they will label us as they see fit.  So go ahead, you decide who you are, use whatever name you wish, and the hell with what others think. Want to be Indiana Jones?  Be Indiana Jones!  Go for it… 24/7.

Do let me know though if the seducing thing works. I could always drop a few pounds, work out some, get a toupee, etc…

_____________________________________________

ARE WE BRILLIANT OR WHAT?

While I am on the subject of labeling why do we pretend that what we do is akin to rocket science? About the only thing complicated about detecting today is figuring out where to get the $2,500 to buy that top-of-the-line detector.  Yeah I know detectors are now computerized, and you can program them, and make them sound like a Buck Rogers space gun, but I am willing to bet a fifteen year old kid (who is already buying & selling stock on his smart phone) can figure it all out in an hour or two.

rocket3I can hear you now.  This guy Dick Stout sure has a pair of “big ones” to say something like this.  The old guy who just likes to turn it on and go, and dreams of a one knob detector. He really is a “dick”!!  Well you may be right, but be honest. We push a few pads, swing a coil and “hope” we find something neat, and we all know that if we aren’t in the right spot we might as well be using a couple of willow twigs (and dowsers don’t get on my ass).

The detectorists that I see being successful today are those who know “WHERE” to take their detectors, not those who have the latest and the best, and yes experience counts for something but so does being lucky.

I am being selective here in putting these remarks together, but they were part of someone’s earlier comments (with regards to how critical we are when it comes to detecting shows on TV)….

“We are all goofballs digging holes for our enjoyment and entertainment and not to save the world so let’s all just relax and come down from our high horses.  Everyone should stop taking themselves so seriously”…..

Not very flattering I know, but it’s so true….. (Man, am I going to get my ass kicked here…)

_____________________________________________

NEED A NEW DETECTOR?

collage66

Here’s your chance to own one or more of the above detectors and help out someone in need at the same time. You can find out how  HERE
_____________________________________________

YOU WILL LOVE THIS…

Interesting read on Peter Tompa’s great blog. Hope you will take a minute to read it.

“Archaeology…Art or Science?”.

************

25 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

25 responses to “What’s In a Name?

  1. Big Tony from Bayonne

    Dick, I love the Indiana Jones stereo type image! I can hear the song playing in my head as I write this little ditty. But as I said in the past I am a Coin Shooter and because I recover lost coins and recycle them back into circulation then that makes me a US Mint employee, Hey that makes all of us employees! Wow, I am finally back on a job, yippee! The pay is low but it a great place to work! Outdoors most of the time, bending and stretching and talking to folks about when I am going to mow their lawns? Or my favorite one is – that he told his son that I was using a Geiger Counter!

    • Yo, BT from B!
      Well I guess by that reasoning, makes me an employee of Her Majesty’s Royal Mint. Not sure that I want the Indiana Jones label as he was an archaeologist, and I being a TREASURE HUNTER wouldn’t want people thinking I was a grave robber, or a looter, or supplied the antiquities markets with illicit ceramics. We T’Hers have standards y’know.
      Large ones all round!

  2. Ah, wise words, Oh Master.
    Because you have not ‘buckled’ your ‘swash’ since time immemorial, does not mean you cannot walk on the rice paper without leaving a trace.
    Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

    Grasshopper.

    • Tony, I often wonder if I would still have the aches, pains and health problems if I were back in Jersey? I can still visualize a few of those places I used to hunt….

      You put me to shame with your get up and go. Must be the Sambuca!

      • Big Tony from Bayonne

        No shame intended! My wife says that Sambuca is too sweet – too much sugar. I will have to start shopping around at the liquor store for a replacement! Any suggestions? My new Mantra is “Get out and Get some targets” – all this expensive equipment should be put to good use!

    • Ah, wise words from a drunken Brit. Keep sipping you old sod.

  3. Archie Ray

    Hi Dick! We had a club in Maryland called the Heritage Hunters that sounded a lot better than Treasure Hunters. We also have a club called The Maryland Artifacts Recovery Society. Another good name to work off of.

    Archie

  4. Hey Archie, good to hear from you. I do remember both clubs…I really like the “Heritage Hunter” name….thanks, and hi to Rosalie.

  5. Top Cat

    Dick a lot of guys call themselves “coin shooters” out here.

    Since I have taken up Gold Panning a fellow called me a Miner, so I said I’m not a Minor I’m 68 years old.(lol).

    Have a great day and keep the articles coming!!

  6. Top Cat I am indeed a coin shooter….and an old one. I too wish I were a “miner” or minor, and could do things all over again, knowing what I know now (how many have said that I wonder).

    You have a great day as well and hope you will check in more frequently.

  7. Dick, just FYI I still consider myself young but reading through the CTX 3030 users manual makes my head spin.. Too complicated for a fun hobby in my opinion. The Ace’s simplicity is what I love about it!

    • Steve I am with you on the simplicity thing….

      Still say a kid could master these expensive machines pretty quickly. They are so much more into that kind of stuff. My grandson embarrasses me with his knowledge of computers and electronics.

      Ultimately detecting is no different than fishing. If you are casting your fly in the wrong places you won’t have trout for dinner. Nothing complicated about that at all.

  8. Mark S

    How does this sound…

    Electronic Archaeologist

    Had that one in my head for sometime

  9. Robbie

    Everyone should put this job on their Resume———-Terrain Finance Extractor.

  10. Robbie

    This Texas heat and humidity even stops some of the real diehards, down my way. :o(

  11. I call myself the Detectorista–or Detecting Diva, depending on my mood. And even though I hang out with a bunch of guys hunting in the woods all day, I can at times be moody. Sometimes that feminine side breaks through.

    As far as being successful, research is key, and if you want to find good stuff, you’ve got to travel. Hanging around the same old sites, will most likely produce the same old finds.

    My detector has lots of bells and whistles, but I rarely use them. I know my machine, and I believe that helps in my success.

  12. Thanks Diva…research is indeed the key. As I’ve said thousands of times, it doesn’t what detector you are using if you are not in the right place.

    As for hanging out in the woods with guys…..never had
    a gal to hunt with unfortunately. And women, moody? Nah, never happens.

  13. Big Tony from Bayonne

    Hello Diva, there are plenty of women that are involved in the ECRDA club in North Jersey. Thanks for the heads up if I ever meet you on a beach, I’ll be sure not to push any issues with you – you see – men can be cranky and those two don’t mix. I know what you mean about all of the extra’s on a machine. Simple and slow works just as well most times!

Leave a Reply

