The “Groupie” from Poland….

Well I mentioned last update that Warsaw Wally was checking in here for material, and now I can add that his visits are increasing with each passing day.  I am thrilled and  honored to have such a well known archaeolologist become a regular here. It would be even better if he were not well known for being the laughingstock amongst his peers.

In his recent post he refers to Stout Standards as an “anti-archaeological blog”,  apparently itimating that his is not “anti-metal detecting”?  Jeez, could have fooled me… ROFLMAO!!

I see too where he brought up archaeologist Lisa Hume MacIntyre’s name again, and thought it appropriate to hurl crafty insults at her, but then I would expect nothng less from such a “small” individual.

And he wonders why no one likes him…..

______________________________________________

FMDAC 2013 CONVENTION

fmdac

 Just learned that the FMDAC Convention/Hunt will be held this year in Knoxville, Tennessee, in conjunction with the Smoky  Mountain Artifacts Research & Treasure Society.  The dates: October 25, 26 & 27. Please see the following for more information….

FMDAC FALL CONVENTION ANNOUNCEMENT

CONVENTION DETAILS

  ENTRY FORM

 ______________________________________________

WEBSITE CHANGES

For the record I have removed three  links from the Stout Standards website.  The first is “Scattershooting”.  It was intended for my daily thoughts or brainfarts, but after starting this blog the the brainfarts stopped.  I also removed the video and product review links.  I was not keeping up with adding new videos,  and the product reviews stopped coming in a long time ago.

Thanks to those of you who did send along product reviews in the past. You are appreciated.

One photo from the Scattershooting link mentioned above I do not want to disappear….do you remember these detectors?

New Jersey pal John Punola, field testing the Wilson Neuman detectors....early 80's

New Jersey pal John Punola, field testing the Wilson Neuman detectors….early 80’s

______________________________________________

FOR MY MUSICIAN FRIENDS…

Craigslist Ad :

We are a small & casual restaurant in downtown Vancouver and we are looking for solo musicians to play in our restaurant to promote their work and sell their CD.   This is not a daily job, but only for special events which will eventually turn into a nightly event if we get positive response. More Jazz, Rock, & smooth type music, around the world and mixed cultural music. Are you interested to promote your work? Please reply back ASAP.

A Musician’s Reply:

Happy new year! I am a musician with a big house looking for a restauranteur to come to my house to promote his/her restaurant by making dinner for me and my friends.  This is not a daily job, but only for special events which will eventually turn into a nightly event if we get a positive response. More fine dining & exotic meals  and mixed Ethnic Fusion cuisine. Are you interested to promote your restaurant? Please reply back ASAP.

______________________________________________

AN EMBARRASSING MOMENT

Dr. Epstein was a renowned engineer who earned his undergraduate and graduate degrees in his home town and then left for New York where he quickly rose to the top of his field. Soon he was invited to deliver a significant paper at a conference, coincidentally held in his home town. He walked on stage and placed his papers on the lectern, but they slid off onto the floor. As he bent over to retrieve them, at precisely the wrong instant, he inadvertently farted. The microphone amplified his mistake resoundingly through the room  and reverberated it down the hall!

He was quite embarrassed but somehow regained his composure just enough to deliver his paper. He ignored the resounding applause and raced out the stage door, intending  never to be seen in his home town again.

However, decades later, when his elderly mother was ill, he returned to visit her. He reserved a hotel room under the name of Levy and arrived under cover  of darkness. The desk clerk asked him, “Is this your first visit to our city, Mr. Levy?” Dr. Epstein replied, “Well, no, it isn’t. I grew up here and received my education here, but then  I moved away.”

“Why haven’t you visited?” asked the desk clerk. “Actually, I did visit once, many years ago, but to tell you the truth an embarrassing thing happened, and since then  I’ve been  too ashamed to return.” The clerk consoled him. “Sir, while I don’t have your life experience, one thing I have learned is that often what seems embarrassing to me isn’t even remembered by others. I bet that’s true of your incident, too. Was it a long time ago?”

“Yes, many years.”

The clerk asked, “Was it before or after the Epstein Fart?”

************

26 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

26 responses to “The “Groupie” from Poland….

  1. bill from lachine

    Dick,
    Glad to see your fan base is ever expanding.

    Regards + HH

    Bill

  2. What about the 2 big hunts this weekend – the ECRDA Hunt and the Minelab Hunt – both in South NJ…the Jersey Shore is ready for this season’s visitors, come and help local business’ in this area get back on their feet.

  3. They say, “any publicity is good publicity”; just let Wally keep talking and keep sending members your way! Maybe I should send him a link to our forum when we do a membership drive! LOL

  4. Hold on there Ricardo:
    ‘Wally’ is an arkie? Huh? Since when? Only HE describes himself as such, and since he’s reluctant to prove what appears to be wild, self-descriptive fantasies, it’s small wonder people treat his wannabe claims with the same mirth as his now discredited Artefact Erosion Counter.
    ‘Wally’ is the best thing that’s happened to this fine hobby of ours in recent years, but we shouldn’t regard him or his outpourings as being typical of archaeology per se. He hates the Portable Antiquities Scheme even more than he hates us! The PAS shows how detectorists are contributing massive amounts of raw material for academic study, far and above anything previously seen. Now that the PAS is in receipt of government funding he’s apoplectic! HOORAH!!!!

    As for his snide backhanders aimed at qualified archaeologist Lisa MacIntyre, it strikes me as being a bit like the know-nothing apprentice criticising the master.

  5. ‘Warsaw Wally’ the “Groupie” yep, that sounds about right. However, here in the UK our version of ‘Wally’ starts with the same first letters ‘Wa’, but ends slightly different. Hope you all have a wonderful day.

    Frank

  6. Okay, okay, okay…..got it. You damn Brits have a different word for everything. You do realize we don’t do such things over here….no need.

  7. Agreed Dick. I usually get lost in the translations.

  8. Lisa

    Thank you for defending my honor, Dick and John! I suspect that people such as him, who must always bash and attempt to humiliate others, must certainly have some issue(s) they are trying to resolve within themselves. The fact that almost everything he posts is filled with such venomous, and mostly unfounded, remarks leads me to view him as a person that constantly feels like he has something to prove. Whether that be his profession or something more personal, I, luckily, cannot answer. I will continue to listen to each and every one of you as I have nothing to fear with being open minded. I am secure in both my profession and my personal well being. And, I also am very comfortable in knowing I am not correct on every aspect of life, including the issue of metal detecting. It is with this knowledge that I can open my mind to the possibility of someday there being a resolution that benefits the world, not my personal ego.

    • No, thank you Lisa for being the person you are, and for being able to see both sides of an issue.

      You just defined Mr. Barford perfectly…. He has a lot of issues, and as a result a lot of enemies. He does not talk. He just insults….

  9. bill from lachine

    Dick,
    I generally try to find the good in people…..I’m at a loss with this character….if he has any redeeming qualities they must be deeply hidden…..the term troll seems to fit for some reason.

    Regards + HH

    Bill

  10. bill from lachine

    Dick,
    I tend to extend the amount of mental energy required based on the caliber of my opponent…..if he was a Goliath I’d pull out all the stops……lol…

    Regards + HH

    Bill

Leave a Reply

