A Potpourri of Recent Items….

COOK COUNTY

Had a couple of emails asking about the situation in Cook County, Illinois (see my post of February 28th), and unfortunately I have nothing new to report.  Last I heard the Task Force was working with the president of the local club there to hire an attorney. As soon as I hear anything further I will be sure to pass it along.

_______________________________________

JOHN WINTER DUMBS ME DOWN AGAIN!

winterlogo

John Winter likes to remind me that he knows more about American history then I do, and at times I tend to agree, but in this case I am not sure it’s because of  my being an inattentive student in my early years or because the topic falls into the area of John’s expertise. In any case I will let you decide….check his latest update (and put down)   here.

___________________________________________

IS THIS WHAT IS ON THE HORIZON?

Almost flipped out when I saw this…entered my bid this morning!

$47,000  Detector__

 ____________________________________________

CLUB NEWSLETTERS

I receive a lot of club newsletters, and appreciate being kept in the loop despite the fact that I have not written the Club News & Views for some time.  I wanted to share a few here for those editors who might want to pick up a few ideas or simply to compare theirs…  Thank you all for keeping me on the mailing list.

SOUTH ALABAMA HISTORICAL RESEARCH & RECOVERY

PROSPECTORS CLUB OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

MIDWEST COINSHOOTERS & HISTORICAL CLUB

 ____________________________________________

RECENT ARTICLES

jess2

Thanks to Jessie Thompson of the Nor’Easters Metal Detecting Club for sharing the follwing articles….

Recovered Cache Stirs Old Heartache

Montpelier Opens to Metal Detectors

Mystery of the Lost  West Point Ring

************

7 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

7 responses to “A Potpourri of Recent Items….

  1. I would NEVER EVER attempt a ‘put-down’ on the esteemed and venerable Dick Stout!

  2. To update the Metal Detecting Community as to what is happening in the northern Illinois area (Chicago). The Task Force for Metal Detecting Rights Foundation has been in contact with the president of the local detecting club in that area, and has been working with them to set up legal representation for that area, with the full financial and physical support from the Task Force.
    The Task force has retained a law firm in New York, to act as it’s lead representatives, and that firm will work with other law firms across the country to help battle assaults against Metal Detecting. The Task force hope this will be the start of a joint effort of clubs, individuals, interested supporters, and manufacturers across the country to fight for the Metal Detecting Community.
    The Task Forces is reworking its web site, and it should be ready and operational in the next 10 days. The TF’s site will have new and very exciting features added for the benefit of the Metal Detecting Community….is a universal “certification” in the works..visit http://detectingrights.com/ next week to find out.

  3. Just to chime in — I wasn’t in the video but Montpelier was fantastic. Great people there both on the detecting and archaeology side. Lots of posts about this on my site (and I’m going to be blogging shortly on one of the biggest archaeology sites also.)

Leave a Reply

