Why the MXT Pro?

I received a few emails about my last post, asking why I liked the MXT Pro so much, and I thought I would try and respond. Remember however that I am from  the old school of detecting, and the older I get the dumber my explanations.

First reason?  I love knobs and switches. Not sure why, but I am not a big fan of touchpads. I understand they are faster in many instances, but when when you flick a switch, there’s no doubt in your mind you’ve just made a change. When you turn a knob you can see where it’s set.  With touchpads you assume that changes were made, but just maybe you didn’t push that pad hard enough, and maybe the change didn’t happen in the software.  Stupid exlanation?  Absolutely, but remember this is “Stout Standards”. What the  hell did you expect?

MXT finds....

MXT finds….

Next I love the tone ID feature. How simple can it get or I get?  As a coin hunter and senior citizen it’s Low for crap. High for dig!

When I am out in the field I almost always set my mode switch to “Coins & Jewelry, the trac switch to “ground” and the dual control to the preset (triangle)  just below nickel.  After hunting for a while I try to analyze my finds, and adjust accordingly. By that I mean if I am finding too much trash I might increase the disc (dual control), and if I am not finding much of anything I will try to increase the gain.  Nothing complicated there.

I have come to learn that the secret to finding anything good has always been “how much sensitivity or depth can I get without creating a lot of chatter”.  With the MXT Pro I start off with my gain at 3, and my threshold just a hum.  My plan is to listen closely to the audio threshold and monitor the very slight increases I hear (these are the deeper and usually older targets).  At that point I try to see how much I can increase the gain and still have a stable  threshold.  Any increase at all in the gain will also help better define the ID readouts.

Another way to get extra depth is to turn down your threshold “below” the audible level and see if you can increase your gain without a lot of noise. This is very  much a trial and error thing and depends a great deal on the area you are hunting and the ground conditons.

I will always concentrate on two readouts (the numerical numbers, and the graphic bars).  The stronger these bars are, the more pronounced they are,  the better the chances of the target being being worthy of a dig.  Of course if the target is quite deep then both of these readouts may not mean anything.  If the audio increase is weak or faint, and the depth reading is 5 inches or more, dig it!  I will also often increase the gain (noise or not) just to see if I can improve the ID readouts in cases like this.

At times I will hunt in the “Relic Mode” to gain a little more depth.  I set the the audio threshold to where I can just barely hear a hum, and then set  the Dual Control to the first triangle (below nickel). I then watch for the numerical readouts.  Remember they will be the same, no matter what mode you are in.  It doesn’t matter what the target description is (buckles, dimes, etc.).  Quarters will still read in the low +80’s, nickels usually in the +18 area, and new pennies at +55, etc..

Not sure I explained things clearly or just confused the hell out of you. If I have, just remember knobs (as in boobs) and switches….they are fun to play  with.

______________________________________

THE “DETECTING DIVA” BLOG!

Allyson Cohen, a.k.a. Detectorista

Allyson Cohen, a.k.a. Detectorista

Allyson Cohen, an old friend from back East, has just put up a blog, and it should be a great one. I know for sure she can out last, out hunt me, and I  suspect many of my friends as well. She also has a way with words and I love her description of what a detecting diva is.  Be sure to check out the   Detecting Diva and add it to your list of favorites. Allyson is also known in the East as Detectorista!!

 Great Job Allyson. I will be checking in often….

************

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Why the MXT Pro?

  1. raymond salmons

    “just remember knobs (as in boobs) and switches….are fun to play with!” thats a quote I will never forget! he he he !

  2. Mike Smith

    I know you do not prospect Dick but another reason the MXT Pro is a top seller is that it is so versitile. It uses the same ground balancing program as the White’s GMT which means it can actually adjust (not preset like most detectors) to the harsh iron ores we encounter when out prospecting. Plus with a higher frequency than most “coin” detectors it makes it more sensitive to smaller pieces of gold. I love using the MXT for all types of detecting whether it be coin/jewerly, relic or prospecting!

    • Thanks Mike for that info. No I am not a prospector although I think I would enjoy it….

      As a follow-up to Mike’s comments, I found this on the White’s Website:

      Patterned after White’s famous Goldmaster metal detector! Plus the display offers VDI -95 to +94, % probability of IRON, ground phase, automatic battery check, low battery alert, and overload alert. When using the Prospecting Mode the Dual knob that adjust discrimination (COIN & RELIC) becomes an adjustment for SAT speed (stabilizes threshold over ground inconsistencies). A real gold machine metal detector designed to Jimmy “Sierra” Normandi’s specifications.

Leave a Reply

