Bubba Spins Another Tale…

  My good friend from across the pond, John “Bubba” Howland, just added another blurb to his Malamute Saloon, and of course it’s filled with his  love of all things archaelogical. Why he and the arkies are so close they could spit on each other (and they do, all the time). John can be crude, rude  and over-the-top sometimes, but you can never doubt his sincerity and passion. It could be worse…..John adheres to the write drunk and edit sober method.

arkie2

So if you’re up to it you can read his latest by clicking on the Malamute Saloon link above and scrolling down to today’s date.

___________________________________________________________________

SURE IS QUIET OUT THERE?

Think we need to add another word to the definition of detctorist and treasure hunter, and that word is apathetic! I say that because no matter the problem  area (Cook County, Florida, Kentucky), we apparently have just decided to give up and accept the status quo. While Stout Standards is not a preferred  website to many in the pastime, I do know that those who oversee the three national groups check in here, and I am extremely disappointed in their inability  or refusal to respond, if only to tell me to “stick it where the sun don’t shine”.

lazyIf indeed they are too busy with other things then perhaps they are too busy to run the groups they supposedly represent. Some of the comments/responses I  received on the blog site about the joining of forces were well thought out, detailed, and deserve some consideration, but apparently those that can use this  type of help are not interested.

I have come to the conclusion that each of these organizations wants to go it’s separate way, although their members have no clue what that is.  I also  know it’s easy for me to sit here and criticize, especially since I am not involved in any of these groups, but I have heard from others who want to know  what is happening as well, so I am not alone.

It’s now mid-February, nine months since the last post on the Task Force site, and the FMDAC site has finally returned, though it still lacks updated  information. And whle I have heard great things about the renewed and revived WWATS organization, their latest website update is from November.

Here’s hoping my constant criticism and harping pisses them off sufficiently enough to get them off their asses and respond to their membership.  In the meantime I guess we will have to be satisfied with the status quo flavored with a lot of apathy….

___________________________________________________________________

A VIDEO TO GET YOU THINKING

This video has nothing to do with treasure hunting, but I do hope you will watch it. It’s very important, and I feel certain you will agree….

Midway

************

7 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

7 responses to “Bubba Spins Another Tale…

  1. Thanks for sharing the Midway video Dick. Anyone that can watch that and not be moved and feel guilty for all the waste we heap at the environment. I am not an Environmentalist but we need to take more care. period!

  2. The following comment was sent to me today by Avery Marder, of the Task Force for Metal Detecting Rights. I am sharing it here since he commented an older post (A Project for The Big 3). Hope you will read my follow up response as well…
    Avery’s response here is word for word as he sent it….

    ………………………………………………………………………………..

    Hi Dick…well I’m a little annoyed, but not surprised to about your comments regarding the 3 national organizations, and in particular the Task Force for Metal Detecting Rights Foundation (the Task Force), without giving your own background with this organization.
    You failed to mention that at one time you were a board member of the Task Force, and resigned because of your affiliation with Whites Electronics. You resigned a time when the Task Force was able to obtain much needed funding from MineLab, a company that doesn’t just give money away unless they fully trust the motives and ability of the receipient organization. The Task Force has proven itself by its actions and efforts in support of the Metal Detecting Community. You, Dick, resigned because you felt that this MineLab support would jepordise your relationship with Whites, and the Task Force board accepted your resignation graciously.
    Now the turn around, recently the Task Force requested, and pulled together a meeting with all of the major metal detecting manufacturers, which included Whites, Garrett, MineLab, First Texas, Tessoro, etc – most of whom attended.
    At this meeting the Task Force laid the ground work for its future plans and, asked for the support of the manufacturers. This meeting started the ball rolling to establish a concerted effort to establish the Task Force, as the voice for the Metal Detecting Community, and the manufacturers as supporters of those efforts. The Task Force Has taken on the challenge to put a program in place, with the funds it now has, to establish a working model for a national organization to support, defend and protect the rights of the Metal Detecting Community. To this end the Task Force has begun to search for a law firm to act as the central legal core, and to work with law firms outside of its jurisdiction as the needs arise across this country. The Task Forced realizes that this is a national fight, and that the discrimination against the legal pastime of recreational metal detecting in any part of this country, will eventually affect other parts, and must be fought wherever it rears it’s ugly head…the task force is dedicated to this effort.
    One last thing, the Task force is an all volunteer organization, with NO paid officers, and no allegiance to any outside group, manufacturer, nor individuals..we are here to protect the rights of the Metal Detecting Community..and we the Task Force Board of Directors, are all dedicated Metal Detectorists ourselves. Also the task force WILL NOT ASK FOR ANY MEMBERSHIP DUES (it’s free to join) from the Metal Detecting Community, or, for that fact, any individual who wants to lend their voice in helping to support the rights of the Metal Detecting Community..all the task Force wants is an “army’ to help in these battles when needed, thank you.
    Regards,
    Avery Marder
    Vice President,
    Task Force for Metal Detecting Rights Foundation

  3. Okay, now my turn….

    Back in the fall of 2011, I learned of the Task Force for Metal Detecting Rights. If I remember right the group had another name at the time, but nonetheless I was impressed with their efforts to open up various parks in New York city. As a result I promoted their efforts/cause on the Stout Standards website.

    I also agreed, when asked, to be a “special advisor”….NOT a board member as Avery suggests. My reason? Because I wanted to see the group supported by all the manufacturers, NOT just Minelab.

    Did I and do I have an allegiance to White’s Electronics? You bet, and if you visit my website that will be quite obvious. They make a great product, and my relationship with them goes back years and years to when Ken White Sr. was still at the helm, and I will be forever indebted to him for his support in starting the FMDAC.

    Having said the above you all know that I talk about every make and model detector here on Stout Standards, and every one is welcome to talk about whatever machine they use.

    I kept telling the Task Force that I would be very willing to be more involved once “all the manufacturers” were on board with their effort. I was assured that would happen “after their current agreement with Minelab” was up, and I believe that was supposed to be sometime in January 2012.

    Well as time went on, and nothing happened, I suddenly learned about a Task Force/Minelab event in Atlantic City where 11 metal detectors, all Minelab, would be given away.
    Likewise the whole two day event was paid for by Minelab.

    When I questioned this I was told the other manufactuers would be involved. That did not happen . At that point I asked that my name be removed as a special advisor, as it would appear that I was endorsing Minelab.

    Later I decided to add a link to my website called “Who We Are”…a place where I could share all the “good” things detectorists have done over the year. I thought that perhaps if clubs were facing problems in their particular area, they might use the information there to help their cause…

    Immediately after putting up this link I received an email from the Task Force (Avery) saying that my link should have gone through them, and they could have put it on their site, allowing people to also connect with me….? Given that StoutStandards is my website, not theirs, that ended my association with the Task Force.

    Let me wind all this up by saying, I still wish the Task Force well, but think they have dropped the ball with no updates on their website since May of last year. I just checked it…nothing has changed. I am also not aware of any meeting where ALL the manufacturers have signed on to their effort.

    Also I have saved “every single email” from this organization, and really don’t wish to share them here, but if the accusations get out of hand I will most assuredly do so……AND none of this addresses the current situation in Cook County.

  4. A line from Shakespeare. Me thinks he doth protest too much!

  5. Thanks for posting Avery’s response and your reply to it, Dick. Very interesting read. –Eddy C.

    • Well as I said in my post “Here’s hoping my constant criticism and harping pisses them off sufficiently enough to get them off their asses and respond to their membership.”

      Guess it worked…..first communication from this group since May last year.

Leave a Reply

