A Ring Return on Christmas Eve…

In my post of December 9th I mentioned a class ring I had found in my junk jewelry box (from years ago), and I am happy to say I did indeed find the owner,  returned it, and she just called to thank me and wish me a Merry Christmas. The class ring was from Notre Dame Academy in Philadelphia, and the  year was 1950….

Mrs. McIntyre, who turned 80 in June, now lives in North Carolina, and was very surprised to get her ring after all these years. She thought she had  left it in a department store bathroom while washing her hands, but was not sure. In any case she has promised to send a photo or two, and when I receive  them I will share here. Having her receive her ring on Christmas eve made my day!  Merry Christmas again to all of you!

************

8 Comments

Filed under Metal Detecting

8 responses to “A Ring Return on Christmas Eve…

  1. Dick, not only does this make us happy, but it also helps to show the positive side of metal detecting and in light of all the negative publicity, stories like this stand out.

  2. Congratulations Dick. that’s a pretty impressive find and a great return. Merry Christmas to you and yours

  3. Thanks Ron, somehow pales to all yours, trust me. I feel so bad for having had it sit in a junk jewelry box for all these years. In any case I am glad it made someone’s day a little brighter. Merry Christmas as well to you and your family, and have a Happy, Healthy, Prosperous New Year.

  4. raymond salmons

    Way to go Dick ! ! ! I have returned three to their rightful owners ! What a great feeling ! I hope i can return more !

  5. Bob K

    Dick my wife and l have returned a class ring, a wedding ring & a Lions club charter pin. The look & surprise you get, is the best reward. It’s a great feeling to help some one with a hobby that we use for our pleasure.
    Hope you and your family had a great Christmas? Hope the New year is kind to you and that you can get out to detect.

  6. Thanks Bob. You are correct about the happiness and surprise. This lady was thrilled that someone found her ring after all these years, and took the time to track her down. It was fun doing it as well…. Thanks for the holiday wishes, and I hope you and your family also have a happy, healthy and prosperous new year!

Leave a Reply

