Bravo to an old friend…..

Was surprised to get an email (via Chicago Ron’s site) from Dan Sivilich, an old friend from New Jersey, and the early days of the FMDAC. Dan, at that time,  was a member of the Deep Search Metal Detecting Club.

It’s been years since I talked with Dan, and apparently nothing has changed….Dan has always been involved with the metal detecting/archaeological community,  building bridges where he can, and is still working hard at it. He now lives in Syracuse, New York, and is part of an organization called the “Battlefield Restoration & Archaeological Volunteer  Organization”(BRAVO for short). While Bravo is new to me, the organization has been around for some time.

Members of Bravo….. Dan is 5th from the right

I will always remember Dan keeping me on the straight and narrow when the FMDAC was just starting,  with regards to how I should approach the archaeological community, and  when I needed to change wording in a story or program. Dan was the consummate authority on all things historical. Nothing has changed…..

It was great hearing from him, and if any of you have questions about the various battles that took place in the Northeast, be sure to contact Dan via the website.  The group is currently working with National Geographic on cleaning up the “Diggers” TV series.

Found this mention about the Bravo group…..

Sidenote……Doesn’t surprise me that Dan’s son just got his degree in land surveying, and his daughter just finished her PhD thesis in  Battlefield Archaeology. Congratulations Dan….

_____________________________________________________________

A SIGHT FOR SORE EYES….

Scott Clark, detectorist and owner of the Metal Detecting in Kentucky blog, passed along some good news. Yahoo recently noted   The Best 5 Missouri State Parks for Summer Tent  Camping, and the word “metal detecting” was included. Thank you Scott and thank you Missouri!

Note to the Task Force for Metal Detecting Rights, World Wide Association of Treasure Hunters and the   FMDAC…. Maybe this is something you could start working on with all the states?

_____________________________________________________________

A GUY WHO KNOWS HOW TO RUB IT IN….

Robbie Morin, my friend from Houston, is always quick to take me to task for needing motivation. He keeps sending me photos of his finds, reminding me that the  silver is there….I just need to get off my arse.

Robbie’s recent finds from hunting an old German Gun Club site that was used from the late 1800’s up to the 1940’s

Robbie, thanks for urging me on. I will get even with you one day…..

_____________________________________________________________

 PLEASE KEEP JOE IN YOUR PRAYERS AND THOUGHTS….

If I keep repeating this plea it’s because I want to hear from Joe Cook via the phone or an email. He is currently in another tough part of his battle with cancer,  and hope you will send him a card or note just to say he is in your prayers and/or you are sending good vibes. Please, for me!! His address is:

Joe Cook, c/o Barn Hill Care Center, 249 High Street, Newton, NJ 07860.

As we get older we all face challenges that are difficult, and while I new old age was sneaking up on me I didn’t want it to sneak up on my closest and dearest friends before me. Joe Cook will always be at the top of the list, and I want him around a while longer. Thanks…

_____________________________________________________________

LAST EVENING

“JUST SAYING”……

When will we get serious about our pastime, and will we ever be a real family?

Whenever I have that third or fourth glass of red wine (like now), I get “reflective” (sounds better than “pissed”). I got thinking of all the thousands of detectorists,  the many websites, forums, clubs, organizations and yes, the manufacturers. Whether or not we realize it we are all dependent on one another, and right now we are all going in different directions.

Today posting anything of importance online with regards to restrictive regulations or laws pretty much results in total “who cares”. Asking others to make an effort to help  an individual fight city hall, or even a serious illness? Pretty much the same response. What amazes me, and pisses me off, is that we spend hours on the internet talking about  what coil works best for a particular detector, or whether or not someone left holes in the park, but when push comes to shove….we really don’t give a damn about each  other.

Funny thing is I know that just posting this is a waste of time, but I will anyway. Not the first time I’ve tried to throw this out there.  The pastime has changed a lot over the past ten years, and I worry about it’s ability to continue to be a viable one? I think we better wake up and SOON!

Okay, I’m done, my glass is empty. G’night…..

************

Leave a comment

Filed under Metal Detecting

Leave a Reply

